Hall of fame

In its centennial year Cape Girardeau Central High School will induct four individuals and one team into the school's hall of fame.

This year's class includes:

* Paul Ebaugh (1958-1962) was a three-sport athlete for Central, starring in football, basketball and track. A Lou Muegge Award recipient, an honor going to one of the high school's top male athletes, Ebaugh went on to Southeast Missouri State University and starred in football and track.

* Pat Godwin (1964-1968) played football and baseball for Central. Also a Lou Muegge Award recipient, Godwin went on to be the quarterback at the University of Missouri-Rolla. Recently the school's 1969 football team -- which he quarterbacked -- was inducted into the Missouri-Rolla Hall of Fame.

* Steve Williams (1976-1980) played football, basketball and baseball for Central. He was part of the 1980 Class 4 championship basketball team and also helped lead the baseball team to a runner-up finish at state. After graduating from Central -- also receiving the Lou Muegge Award -- Williams went on to play football and baseball at Southeast and later played baseball professionally in the Phillies' organization. Williams has coached the Central baseball team since 1992.

* Bard Womack (1983-1987) starred in football and baseball at Central. After high school he went on to play baseball at the University of Missouri where he was selected to the 1988 Big 8 Conference all-tournament team.

* Being inducted as a team is the 1964 state championship golf team. The team was coached by Payne Muir, and the members include Mike Gray, Mike Long, Jim Reynolds and J. Fred Waltz.

This year's hall of fame class will be recognized at halftime of the school's Sept. 23 football game. The next day at 8:30 a.m. in the high school cafeteria, a breakfast will be held in honor of this year's class followed by formal inductions.

Competing athletically at any sport takes talent. But to excel and be remembered years later is a testament to the impact these athletes had. Congratulations to all of this year's hall of fame inductees.