Officers recognized after enduring Poplar Bluff shooting in July 2018

A ceremony was held in front of the Rush H. Limbaugh Sr. Federal Courthouse in Cape Girardeau on Thursday, July 9, 2020, to honor seven officers involved in the July 2018 arrest of James O’Dell Johnson in Poplar Bluff. U.S. Attorney Jeffrey B. Jensen presented recognitions to SEMO Drug Task Force officer Michael Alford, Poplar Bluff police officer Austin Lemonds, Deputy U.S. Marshal Michael Miller, Perry County Sheriff deputy Delbert Riehn and Deputy U.S. Marshal H. Cameron Thuirer; and also recognized SEMO Drug Task Force officers Corey Mitchell and Jason Morgan who were unable to attend. U.S. Marshal John Jordan and U.S. District Judge Stephen N. Limbaugh Jr. also spoke at the ceremony and praised the officers for their honor and service.