People & Things 12/31/02

Tuesday, December 31, 2002

Cape Girardeau residents graduate from Southwest

Two Cape Girardeau residents were among 1,206 students to graduate during the winter commencement ceremonies at Southwest Missouri State University in Springfield, Mo.

Eric R. Sachse and Kenneth R. Wasson both received bachelor's degrees during Dec. 13 ceremony.

Scholarships awarded to area students

Erik Miller, Jaimie Harmon and Michael Gerber of Cape Girardeau and Ryan Dirnberger of Chaffee, Mo., have been awarded President's scholarships at Southeast Missouri State University for the 2003-2004 academic year.

The scholarship is awarded to high school seniors who achieve an ACT score of at least 24 or score 1110 or better on the SAT college entrance test. Recipients also must rank in the upper 20 percent of their high school class or achieve a high school grade point average of 3.5. The scholarship is worth $1,500 per academic year for up to four consecutive years.

Miller is the son of Mary and Gary Miller of Cape Girardeau. He plans to major in engineering at Southeast.

Harmon is the daughter of Michael and Susan Nolan of Cape Girardeau and James and Rebecca Harmon of Springfield, Mo. She plans to major in pre-law.

Gerber is the son of Tom and Denise Gerber of Cape Girardeau. He plans to major in pre-medicine.

Miller, Harmon and Gerber attend Cape Girardeau Central High School.

Dirnberger is the son of Ron and Charlotte Dirnberger of Chaffee. He attends Chaffee High School.

University dean's list includes local students

Fourteen Cape Girardeau and Jackson residents were among 2,555 to earn a spot on the fall semester dean's list at Southwest Missouri State University in Springfield, Mo.

From Cape Girardeau: Christopher D. Lynn, Tia M. Meyer, Ruth E. Bechtold, Jennifer L. Daume, Heather M. Graham, Julie K. Lessmann, Michael J. Metzger, Eric R. Sachse and Jennifer Schlosser.

From Jackson: Amanda R. Crouch, Elizabeth Y. Holst, Jeremy W. Houchins, Andrew W. Luehrs and Bradley R. Mirly.

Area students among graduates from SIU-C

Several local residents were among the 2,442 students to receive degrees during the fall commencement ceremony at Southern Illinois University Carbondale.

Local students receiving bachelor's degrees were Robert Allen Hrabik Jr. of Oak Ridge, Mo.; Amanda Leigh Coffman, Amanda Elaine Cook, Rollie Joshua Hawk, Daniel Glen Herrera, Randy Michael Hindman, Erik A. Larsen, Crystal Lynn Mays, Richard E. Peterson, Katherine R. Stoner, Tami Renee Ury and Heather Brianna Womack, all of Anna, Ill., and Sandra L. Jordan of Ullin, Ill.

Kelly FFA takes part in national convention

Eleven Kelly FFA members recently attended the 75th annual National FFA Convention in Louisville, Ky., including Kyleigh Cowger, Chris Crook, Nissa Hamm, Misty Menz, Dustin Martin, Clay Mothershead, Bobby Newton, Chris Newton, Natalie Scherer, Bel St. John and Christine Tew.

The group attended several workshops, heard motivational speakers, attended a concert and spent an evening at Six Flags theme park.

The local FFA members were accompanied by Cindy Tew and chapter advisor Jeff Scherer.

Sirimaturas joins academic honor society

Michael William Sirimaturas of Cape Girardeau was initiated into the Phi Kappa Phi academic honor society this fall at the University of Mississippi.

Sirimaturas, a junior majoring in pharmacy, is the son of Chris Sirimaturas of Cape Girardeau.

-- From staff reports

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: