Democrat closes funding gap in Bootheel race

Wednesday, October 23, 2002

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. -- Interest groups helped Democrat Brent Robinson narrow the financial gap in his race against Republican Otto Bean Jr. for the 163rd District seat in the House of Representatives.

Robinson, who trailed Bean in fund raising at the end of August, raised more than three times the amount his opponent collected during September, the period covered by the candidates' latest campaign finance disclosure report.

Robinson, of Kennett, collected $12,760 last month, a third of which, or $4,200, came from special interest groups, predominantly unions.

Democratic Party groups and candidates provided another 15 percent, or $1,950 of Robinson's money.

Twenty donors gave Robinson the $300 maximum for a House race from individual contributors. He also took $1,000 from the Dunklin County Democratic Committee. Party organizations are allowed to give House candidates up to $3,000.

After spending $7,818.70, mostly on radio advertising and direct mail, Robinson was left with $12,577.48 on hand as of Sept. 30.

Despite more productive fund raising by Robinson in September, Bean, of Holcomb, had nearly $8,000 more in the bank with $20,568.93 on hand.

Bean raised $3,775, 55 percent of which, or $2,075, came from Republican Party organizations or candidates. He took another $650, or 17 percent of the total, from interest groups.

He had seven donations for the maximum, plus a $600 contribution from a Republican Party committee. Bean spent $5,599.31, mainly on signs.

The 163rd District includes parts of Butler, Dunklin and Stoddard counties. Democrat Phillip Britt of Kennett, who had represented the district since 1999, resigned his seat on Aug. 1 to become a drug court commissioner for Dunklin and Stoddard counties.

(573) 635-4608

Itemized contributions to candidates for state representative in the 163rd District for the reporting period of Sept. 1 through Sept. 30. Listed are donor, city of residence and amount:BRENT ROBINSON, D-KENNETT

Hoisting Engineers Local 513, Bridgeton, $300; Tenet, Dallas, Texas, $150; CHIPP Political Fund, St. Louis, $300; Laborers Union Local 1104, Cape Girardeau, $300; Dunklin County Democratic Committee, Kennett, $1,000; General American Life Associates PAC, St. Louis, $150; Central Trades and Labor Council, Cape Girardeau, $300; SEMO Building Trades Council, Cape Girardeau, $300; Missouri Association of Trial Attorneys Eastern Missouri, Jefferson City, $300; Taxpayers Unlimited Inc., Kansas City, $300; Missouri State Medical Association, Jefferson City, $300; Realtors PAC, Columbia, $300; Sheet Metal Workers Association Local 36, St. Louis, $300; Missouri Association of Trial Attorneys, Jefferson City, $300; Committee to Elect Bill Ransdall, Waynesville, $300; Friends of Marshall Campbell, Kansas City, $100; International Union of Elevator Constructors Local 13, St. Louis, $100; Iron Workers Union Local 10, Kansas City, $100; Jim Seigfried Campaign Fund, Marshall, $100; United Steelworkers of America Local 7686, Marston, $100; HML of Troy Inc., Dexter, $300; Butler County Democratic Women's Club, Poplar Bluff, $200; House Democrats Inner Circle, Jefferson City, $250; Missouri Federation of Teachers, Jefferson City, $300; Donald Hall, Kennett, $150; Judy Vavak, Kennett, $150; Tom Crunk, Kennett, $150; Christine Beall, Campbell, $300; Broadway Music & Vending Inc., Caruthersville, $150; Barry Aycock, Parma, $250; Bethany Britt, Kennett, $150; Larry Thomason, Kennett, $200; Joe and Frieda Blakemore, Holcomb, $200; Andy Kinchen, Campbell, $125; Gloria Lenski, Campbell, $300; Brad Robinson, Kennett, $300; Stephen P. Sokoloff, Kennett, $300; Marjorie L. Robinson, Kennett, $300; Ann Luther, Holcomb, $300.OTTO BEAN JR., R-HOLCOMB

Dunklin County Republican Central Committee, Kennett, $75; Missouri Land Title PAC, Jefferson City, $250; Missouri Businesses for Good Government, Jefferson City, $100; Townley for State Representative, Chamois, $200; William P. Jackson, Brunswick, $100; William Schwartz, Moro, Ill., $50; Neal and Laurie Gibbons, Hayti, $300; Citizens for Bearden, St. Charles, $300; Missouri Millennium Fund, St. Louis, $600; Team Emerson, Cape Girardeau, $600; Marc and April Ross, Kennett, $300; Gerald and Margaret Hayes, Poplar Bluff, $100; Committee to Elect Dempsey, St. Charles, $300; Anheuser-Busch Cos. Inc., St. Louis, $300; McMahon Auto and Diesel, Kennett, $100.

SOURCE: Finance disclosure reports filed with the Missouri Ethics Commission

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: