GOP legislators help Myers' campaign

Tuesday, September 10, 2002

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. -- Republican lawmakers and interest groups provided close to two-thirds of the money state Rep. Peter Myers raised during the most recent campaign finance disclosure period.

Myers, R-Sikeston, is seeking a third term in the Missouri House of Representatives from the 160th District, which, due to redistricting, consists of western Scott County and a small portion of southern Cape Girardeau County. Democrat Donnie Kiefer, a Chaffee businessman, is challenging Myers in the Nov. 5 election.

Myers raised $4,820 from July 26 through Aug. 31, the period covered by reports submitted to the Missouri Ethics Commission.

He spent $3,611.81 and had $15,518.10 in the bank.

Fellow GOP legislators gave Myers $1,250 combined. State Reps. Catherine Hanaway of Warson Woods, Richard Byrd of St. Louis and Rob Mayer of Dexter each contributed the $300 maximum for a House campaign.

U.S. Rep. Jo Ann Emerson of Cape Girardeau donated $250, while state Rep. Jason Crowell of Cape Girardeau gave $100.

Various interest groups provided a total of $1,800, including maximum donations from the Verizon Good Government Club, the Missouri Society of Anesthesiologists, the Missouri Motor Carriers and the Missouri School Alliance.

Kiefer raised $6,495, more than Myers during the latest reporting period.

However, Kiefer's $5,015.19 remaining cash on hand was less than a third of that reported by the incumbent.

Kiefer had spent $3,652.54 and reported $3,000 in debt.

Kiefer received $1,200 from interest groups, all of which came in maximum donations from four labor unions.

The Cape Girardeau County Democratic Committee and state Rep. Russ Carnahan, D-St. Louis, also contributed the maximum to Kiefer.

(573) 635-4608


Itemized contributions to candidates for state representative in the 160th District for the reporting period of July 26 through Aug. 31. Listed are donor, city of residence and amount:REP. PETER MYERS, R

Terry Crowell, Cape Girardeau, $200; Mrs. Terry Crowell, Cape Girardeau, $200; Jason Crowell, Cape Girardeau, $100; Jo Ann Emerson, Cape Girardeau, $250; Credit Union PAC of Missouri, St. Louis, $200; Verizon Good Government Club, Jefferson City, $200; Realtors PAC, Columbia, $300; Missouri Gaming Co., Riverside, $150; Missouri Society of Anesthesiologists PAC, Jefferson City, $300; Richard G. Byrd for State Representative, St. Louis, $300; Missourians for Mayer, Dexter, $300; Citizens for Hanaway, St. Louis, $300; Motor Carriers Public Affairs, Sugar Creek, $300; Missouri School Alliance PAC, Jefferson City, $250.DONNIE KIEFER, D

Cape Girardeau County Democratic Committee, Jackson, $300; Southeast Missouri Building Trades Council, Cape Girardeau, $300; CHIPP Political Fund, St. Louis, $300; Schlichten, Bogard & Denton, St. Louis, $300; Electrical Workers Voluntary Political Fund, St. Louis, $300; Russ Carnahan, St. Louis, $300; IBEW Local No. 702, West Frankfort, Ill., $300; H.B. Rice, Chaffee, $150; Ron Whitaker, Chaffee, $300; Pete Dooley, Chaffee, $200; Deb Vaught, Sikeston, $250; Kielhafner Farms, Oran, $300; William Earrel, Sikeston, $250; Essner Farms, Benton, $300; James Eftink, Oran, $150; Jerry Burge, Sikeston, $200.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: