New Zealand facts

Tuesday, June 18, 2002

Some basic facts about New Zealand, courtesy of the World Almanac, 2002 edition:

Name: New Zealand

Flag: Red, white and blue. It features the British Union Flag and the constellation Southern Cross.

Currency: New Zealand dollar.

Capital: Wellington

Territory: Located about 1,000 miles southeast of Australia, the two main islands cover 103,600 square miles. The land is mountainous and hilly though there are plains, a volcanic plateau and glaciers.

Climate: New Zealand has an overall mild, rainy climate. The northern tip of North Island is warm and humid and the central plateau is hot and sunny in summer but has some snow in winter. On South Island, the west coast is wetter than the east. Southern New Zealand is cooler by about 3 degrees.

Population: 3,792,654 people. The five largest urban areas are Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch and Hamilton.

Economy: Food processing, textiles and machinery are the main industries. Sixty-five percent of people work in service industry jobs, 25 percent in industrial jobs and 10 percent in agriculture.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: