SEMO honors Young Alumni Merit Award winners

Tuesday, June 4, 2002

Southeast Missouri State University has awarded six Young Alumni Merit Awards for 2002.

Those honored were Paul Lints of Sappington, Mo., Shelly Dohogne of Scott City, Mo., Douglas McDaniel of Jackson, Mo., John Bry of Urbana, Ill., Brian Joos of Sherwood, Ark., and Anthony Jansen of Leopold, Mo.

The Young Alumni Merit Award, presented by Southeast's Alumni Association, is given annually to honor alumni under the age of 36 who have brought distinction to the university through professional growth, service and individual character. Each academic college at Southeast honors a distinguished young alumna or alumnus.

Lints, vice president and branch manager of Southern Commercial Bank in St. Louis, was honored by the Donald L. Harrison College of Business.

Lints, a native of St. Louis, received a bachelor's in business administration degree in 1989. He volunteers his time as a board member of the Down Syndrome Association and has participated in fund raisers for the Asthma and Allergy Foundation.

Dohogne, a teacher at Scott County Central Elementary School in Sikeston, Mo., was honored by the College of Education.

A native of Benton, Mo., she received a bachelor's in education degree in 1991 and master's in elementary education degree from Southeast in 1999.

In 2001, she was one of only 78 teachers in Missouri to receive national board certification. She coordinates an early childhood special education program covering seven districts and is a member of the Parents As Teachers Advisory Committee for the Scott County Central, Scott City, Chaffee and Delta school districts.

McDaniel, a trooper with the Missouri Highway Patrol, was recognized by the College of Health and Human Services.

A native of Crystal City, Mo., he received a bachelor's in criminal justice in 1992.

McDaniel teaches annual courses for new recruits and spouses at the Missouri State Highway Patrol Academy and substitute teaches at area schools. He was named the 1997 Missouri State Highway Patrol Trooper of the Year. He is a member of the Cape Girardeau Jaycees.

Bry, executive director of Main Street Urbana-Champaign County, was honored by the College of Liberal Arts.

A native of Auburn, Ind., he received a historic preservation degree from Southeast in 1995.

He has led several Main Street revitalization programs, securing grants in excess of $2 million, placing numerous structures on the National Register of Historic Places and organizing state and national preservation groups. He currently is working to restore a historic 1888 hotel.

Joos, was recognized by the College of Science and Mathematics.

A native of Baltimore, Md., Joos graduated with a degree in physics from Southeast in 1988.

He currently is a flight examiner in the U.S. Air Force. He has received the humanitarian service medal for his work in Somalia and Haiti and his military travels have taken him to 54 countries.

Jansen is assistant general manager at TG Missouri Corp. in Perryville, Mo. He was honored by the College of Polytechnic Studies.

Jansen, a native of Leopold, received a bachelor of science degree in industrial technology in 1992.

He led a successful Toyota production system improvement team at TG Missouri before being promoted to his current position.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: