FEMA says federal aid expanded for flooding losses

Wednesday, May 22, 2002

WASHINGTON -- Residents and business owners in various Missouri counties can seek additional federal aid to cover flooding losses under an amended disaster declaration that had been issued previously for the state.

The declaration was issued May 6, after storms and tornadoes struck the southeastern part of the state.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency on Tuesday extended the declaration to include damage to private and public property from recent floods.

Residents and business owners in the following counties who sustained flood damage are eligible to apply for federal aid under Tuesday's amended declaration: Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Crawford, Dent, Douglas, Jefferson, Howell, Iron, Madison, Oregon, Ozark, Perry, Reynolds, Ripley, Shannon, St. Francois, Ste. Geneieve, Stoddard and Wayne counties.

Grants, loans included

The assistance includes grants to help pay for temporary housing, emergency home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses.

Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration also will be available to help cover losses.

Also Tuesday, President Bush declared four southwest Missouri counties -- Barry, Dade, Lawrence and Taney -- federal disaster areas due to flood damage.

Those counties as well as the counties of Adair, Bollinger, Butler, Carter, Dallas, Howell, Johnson, Knox, Lafayette and Madison, are eligible to receive funding to cover 75 percent of the cost for repairing or replacing flood-damaged public facilities.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: