Kasten, Horizon awards presented at breakfast

Saturday, April 20, 2002

The Community Caring Council elected new officers and gave awards for outstanding community service during its annual awards breakfast Friday.

More than 50 members of the council attended the breakfast, held at the Holiday Inn.

The late Joyce Ann Holekamp won the Horizon Award for outstanding dedication to her job. Holekamp was a caseworker with the Missouri Division of Family Services before her death in November. Richard Holekamp accepted the award for his late wife from Jo Boyer, president of the Community Caring Council.

Boyer was recipient of the Kasten Award, which goes to an individual who shows outstanding service and dedication to the principles of the Community Caring Council. She received the award for her contribution to the council and the community.

The award is named for state Rep. Mary Kasten, who founded the council.

"The awards were deserving," said Kasten. "We've got a great new group here."

State Rep. Jason Crowell presented to Kasten a resolution from the Missouri House of Representatives honoring Kasten's work while in the Missouri Legislature, where she spent 18 years.

The Community Caring Council, working with other community groups, has been effective at helping Missouri's children and families become safer, healthier, more prosperous and more educated, Kasten said.

Boyer stepped down as president of the council and turned her gavel over to president-elect Janice Jones. Boyer will continue to work with the council as a member of the board of directors along with newly elected board members Nancy Jernigan, Jim Watkins, Francis Gould and Paul Schniedermeyer.

Crowell was speaker at the breakfast.

"Actually, we've been working on one big issue -- the budget," said Crowell. "It's too early to tell now how that is going to turn out. Right now, we're about $220 million out of balance."


335-6611, extension 133

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: