Optimist Club members honored in St. Louis

Thursday, February 28, 2002

Submitted photo

A number of area Optimist Club members were honored recently during the Optimist District Conference at St. Louis. They are, from left: Don Sievers, Billy Joe Thompson, Beverly Nelson, and Tom Houchins. Shown at right is Sallie Westenbarger, governor of the East Missouri District of Optimist International.Southeast Missourian

Optimist Club members from Southeast Missouri were recognized for outstanding achievement during a recent East Missouri District Optimist International meeting at St. Louis. The East Missouri District has 64 clubs and is divided into 14 zones.

Billy Joe Thompson Jr., past president of the Jackson Optimist Club, and Tom Houchins, president of the Optimist Club of Marble Hill, each received Honor Club President awards, signifying outstanding leadership during their terms of office. Gary Brewer of the Marble Hill Optimist Club and Tim Maevers of the Jackson Optimist Club received Honor Club Secretary certificates.

Don Sievers, Jackson Optimist Club, a past governor of the East Missouri District and a past international vice president of Optimist International, received awards for his accomplishments.

Beverly Nelson, a member of the Jackson Noon Optimist Club, received the Distinguished Lt. Governor Award for her leadership duties with Zone 3, which includes Jackson, Marble Hill, Perryville and Sikeston clubs.

She was also named the district's number one lieutenant governor in achievement and awards.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: