Extension Council elections under way

Tuesday, January 22, 2002

Cape Girardeau County residents will be voting for new members to the University Extension Council over the next two weeks.

The ballots will appear in local newspapers, including the Southeast Missourian, and may also be picked up at the Extension Center in Jackson. Ballots must be turned in by Feb. 1.

Anyone over age 18 and a resident of Cape Girardeau County is eligible to vote.

This year's ballot has 13 nominees. Voters should select eight. The winners will serve two-year terms.

"We elect council members every year," said Gerald Bryan, of the extension service. "We elect eight one year and 12 the next."

Nominees are:

Shirley Birk, Jackson. Birk is engaged in farming, and currently serves on the council. Birk is interested in 4-H programs for youths and programs for senior citizens.

Opal Collins, Cape Girar-deau. Collins is a retired teacher and currently serves on the council. She served a two-year term as president of FCE County Council and is currently serving a two-year term as council treasurer. Collins is active in Kage FCE Club.

David Coomer, Whitewater. He is an employee of Consolidated Grain and currently serves on the council.

Larry Heggemann, Cape Girardeau. He is a private land conservationist for the Missouri Department of Conservation and is interested in agriculture.

Jeff Gholson, Jackson. A farmer, Gholson is a Farm Bureau member and a member of Cape County Farm Bureau Board of Directors. He is a member of Cape County Young Farmers.

Dan Little, Cape Girar-deau. An insurance claim representative, Little is a University of Missouri-Columbia Extension Master Gardener and an assistant reserve coordinator for Cape Girardeau Police Reserve since 1973.

Joe Perez, Jackson. He is a customer service consultant with AmerenUE in Cape Girardeau, a member of Society of Manufacturing Engineers and a public notary

Scott Peters, Cape Girar-deau. The owner Champion Lawn and Garden Service, Peters currently serves on the council. He is a Master Gardener. He also serves on the Vision 2020 Planning Committee for Cape Girardeau County. He is graduate of Southeast Missouri State with an agri-business/horticulture degree.

Erna M. Phillips, Cape Girardeau. A retired registered nurse, she currently serves on the council and is a historian for Girl Scouts and 4-H groups. She is a volunteer at Teen Challenge and a member of the Jackson Trail Riders and Tennessee Walking Horse Pleasure Club of Missouri.

Dr. William Meyer, Cape Girardeau. He previously served on the council five years and three years on the regional extension council.

Paul Schnare, Cape Girar-deau. He is owner of Sunny Hill Garden and has been involved in the horticulture business for more than 25 years.

Pamela Walther, Jackson. She helps with a family dairy farm and is a 4-H volunteer.

David Wichern, Jackson. He is store manager at Co-op Service Center in Jackson. He currently serves on the council. He participated in 4-H and FFA during high school and has a bachelor's degree in agri-business. He is a member of the Cape County Farm Bureau board.

The council has 26 members. Six are appointed, Bryan said, and include representatives from city and county governments, the Farm Bureau, MFA and the Co-op Service.


335-6611, extension 133

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: