Jackson High School Virtual FBLA SLC Results

Jackson FBLA National Qualifiers Left to Right: Zach Freeman, Sierra Skinner, and Layton Lipke

Three advisers and 39 members of the Missouri Future Business Leaders of America from Jackson High School recently participated in the 2020 Missouri FBLA-PBL Virtual State Leadership Conference, an event held online due to the COVID outbreak. This virtual experience provided members from across Missouri with over 200 hours of educational and leadership content, live forums with industry leaders, and interactive educational activities in an online platform.

Stephen Mackey, a character development coach and motivational speaker, sharing a message to equip people to take responsibility and change their lives, keynoted the conference.

Over 3,500 students and advisers came together for the event, with over 150 business education related contests running during the event; contest topics range from accounting to website design, marketing to mobile application development. 2020 marked the first year the conference was not held in person.

The Jackson chapter received recognition for:

-Gold Seal Chapter Award of Merit (awarded to top 10% chapters)

-Gold Chapter of the Year

-Show Me Hunger: Unite the Fight

Members recognized for BAA/CSA and other recognitions earned this year include:

-Lexi Tucker, Outstanding Service in Local Chapter

-Mackenzie Stoner, BAA Leader Level Award

-Sierra Skinner, CSA Community Award

-Lexi Tucker and Zach Freeman, BAA Business Level Award

-Sierra Skinner, Ashton Reed, Brynna Ward-Hands, and Audrey Clayton, BAA Future Level Award

These students placed in the top ten in the state in their competitive events:

1st--Electronic Career Portfolio--Sierra Skinner

2nd--Digital Video Production--Zachary Freeman, Layton Lipke, Sierra Skinner

6th--Sports and Entertainment Management--Parker Lipke, Patrick Malone, Blaise Winder

7th--Who's Who in Missouri FBLA--Mackenzie Stoner

7th--Entrepreneurship--Kyle Seabaugh, Tyson White

9th--Intro to Information Technology, Connor McConnell

10th--Accounting 2--Kyle Seabaugh

Eligible students may compete in one event at Nationals. Sierra Skinner will compete at the National Leadership Experience this summer for Electronic Career Portfolio for her first place finish. The Digital Video Production team (Zach Freeman and Layton Lipke) will also compete at NLE 2020.