[SeMissourian.com] Overcast ~ 38°F  
River stage: 14.44 ft. Falling
Friday, Dec. 19, 2014

Jackson board re-elects president, vice president

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

In the aftermath of a spirited school board election in which the three Jackson School Board incumbents beat five challengers, the current school board president and vice president were re-elected to their posts at a meeting Monday night.

Terri Tomlin, who also won a new term in the April 8 election, was elected president on a 5-2 vote with board members Alaina Hinze and Paul Stoner dissenting.

Dan Stover was unanimously re-elected board vice president.

Stoner nominated Stover as board president.

Board secretary Bonnie Stahlman and treasurer Wade Bartels, associate superintendent of finance/business operations for the district, were unanimously re-elected to their respective posts.

"I'm just really proud to serve in that capacity," Tomlin said of being re-elected president. She said this is a time to regroup and look at the district's focus, which is the students.

Stover added it was an honor to be elected vice president once more.

"I'm just proud to be part of the Jackson School District and help in any way I can," he said.

Board officers were chosen with superintendent Ron Anderson presiding as chairman.

In other business, the board:

* Accepted results from the April 8 election. Eight people ran for three positions with incumbents Tomlin, T. Wayne Lewis and Bruce Thomas retaining their seats.

Challengers were Jamie Pfefferkorn Nipper, Kristi Uhrhan, Brad Noel, Will Adams and Larry Koenig.

* Recognized the Jackson High School basketball team for its winning season.

* Heard presentations on the Week of the Young Child and the "Write" Stuff, a lesson in advertising and persuasive writing in Hailey Massey's fifth-grade class at North Elementary School.

The Week of the Young Child is an annual celebration sponsored by the National Association for the Education of Young Children whose purpose is to focus attention on the needs of young children and their families and recognize the early childhood programs and services that meet those needs, according to information from the district.

* Approved program evaluations of the transportation and food service programs.

* Heard that Volunteer Appreciation Week is next week and that the Jackson Area Chamber of Commerce will host the Educator of the Year banquet May 7.

Honorees include Beth St. John, in the choir department at Jackson High School; Heather Miller, who teaches high school special education; Jason Bruns, a seventh-grade science teacher at Jackson Middle School; and Lisa Goodwin, a second-grade teacher at Orchard Elementary School.



Pertinent address:

614 E. Adams St., Jackson, Mo.

Fact Check
See inaccurate information in this story?

Note: The nature of the Internet makes it impractical for our staff to review every comment. If you feel that a comment is offensive, please Login or Create an account first, and then you will be able to flag a comment as objectionable. Please also note that those who post comments on semissourian.com may do so using a screen name, which may or may not reflect a website user's actual name. Readers should be careful not to assign comments to real people who may have names similar to screen names. Refrain from obscenity in your comments, and to keep discussions civil, don't say anything in a way your grandmother would be ashamed to read.

Congrats to Terri Tomlin and Dan Stover! Keep up the great work! To all the school board members.....please remember to keep our children and teachers for the reason you are on the school board....NOT a personal agenda!! Paul Stoner & Alaina Hinze!!

-- Posted by jacksonrocks on Tue, Apr 15, 2014, at 4:19 PM

Wow jacksonrocks! That was ugly and divisive. Way to make the "home team" look like trash.

-- Posted by vetdaughter on Tue, Apr 15, 2014, at 4:32 PM

How so Vet daughter?

-- Posted by southeastreader on Tue, Apr 15, 2014, at 8:53 PM

Please tell me how so vetdaughter!! It's time for the school board to act like adults and remember why they are there.....for the students and teachers!! It is time for ALL of them to get along and make Jackson an even better place.

-- Posted by jacksonrocks on Wed, Apr 16, 2014, at 1:45 AM

I agree with you vetdaughter. And if wanting the best for our children's education and being responsible to the tax payers is a personal agenda, then call it what you want. I just hope that the people of Jackson and this country look into what is going on with the changes in the school system and how it is affecting the kids. You need to get involved and I don't mean just showing up for their sports games.

-- Posted by momonthego497 on Wed, Apr 16, 2014, at 6:50 AM

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration. If you already have an account on seMissourian.com or semoball.com, enter your username and password below. Otherwise, click here to register.


Password:  (Forgot your password?)

Your comments:
Please be respectful of others and try to stay on topic.

Map of pertinent addresses
Related subjects