Carutherville's Monroe wins Carr Trophy

Thursday, December 5, 2013
Darrell Monroe

By BRIAN ROSENER ~ Daily American Republic

POPLAR BLUFF, Mo. -- Darrell Monroe finally took home that elusive Carr Trophy as the most outstanding football player in the SEMO Conference.

A finalist for a second straight year, Monroe picked up the honor Wednesday night at the 68th annual Poplar Bluff Letter Club Gridiron Banquet.

Poplar Bluff's Jacob Sliger was named the most outstanding defensive player, becoming the first Mule to win the Derland Moore Award.

Monroe was a four-time All-SEMO player, earning the honor as a freshman on the defensive line. As a sophomore he ran for over 1,000 yards and was an All-SEMO running back while sharing the ball with Elbie Fonda, who won the Carr that season.

Last season Monroe was a finalist for the award, given annually since 1979, after rushing for over 1,100 yards but Malden's Romello McCoy took home the trophy.

Monroe was named to both the offensive and defensive All-SEMO Central team.

He ran for 1,430 yards, averaging 11 yards per carry and scoring 20 touchdowns. He also caught 12 passes for 433 yards and five scores while returning three kicks for 99 yards.

On defense, the linebacker made 54 tackles including 44 solo and 14 for a loss. He also had an interception.

The Tigers lost in the MSHSAA Class 2 quarterfinals to Lutheran North 56-41 this fall to finish 10-2. Caruthersville reached the semifinals before losing to eventual champion Lamar last year after consecutive quarterfinal losses to Maplewood-Richmond Heights.

During his four years, the Tigers were 43-8.

Monroe is the fifth player from Caruthersville to win the award since 2003.

There was a three-way tie for second in the voting, which is done by a committee of eight area high school football officials and named in honor of E.E. "Bus" Carr.

Mikey Jones of Cape Central, Peyton Montgomery of Chaffee and Jackson's Dante Vandeven joined Monroe on the stage as finalists.

Jones led a Tiger team that advanced to the Class 4 state semifinals, rushing for 2,045 yards and 25 touchdowns. He won the North's Scoring Award with 27 touchdowns and 172 points.

Vandeven threw for 2,240 yards by completing 58 percent of his passes. The junior threw 22 touchdown passes and ran for 20 more with 913 yards for over 3,150 yards of total offense for a Jackson team that won a district title.

Montgomery led Chaffee with 1,404 passing yards by completing 57 percent of his passes while running for 712 yards. The junior threw for 15 touchdowns and ran for 18 as the Red Devils went 9-2.

Sliger led Poplar Bluff's defense as a defensive lineman with 91 tackles including 38 solo and 19 for a loss. He had seven sacks, forced two fumbles, recovered two and blocked a punt leading to a touchdown.

Malden's Dremond Robinson won the SEMO South scoring award with 180 points while Monroe took the Central scoring title with 170.

The Outstanding Lineman Award went to Preston Hobeck of Jackson for the North, Landon Stricklin of Caruthersville in the Central and Chaffee's Trevor Morehead in the South.

Al Jackson of Hayti was presented the Sam Giambelluca Lifetime Achievement Award for his dedication and service to high school athletics over the past 35 years.

New Madrid Central was given the SEMO Football Officials Association Sportsmanship Award.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: