Spirit of America

One of the great honors we enjoy at this newspaper is recognizing those who make a difference in our communities. Each summer the Southeast Missourian presents its annual Spirit of America Award, a token of our appreciation for those who give selflessly.

All nominees for the award will be featured in a special July 2 publication. The award recipient will be announced July 4 before the fireworks show at Arena Park. The nominating organization of the winner will receive $1,000. If nominated by an individual, the winner will select a charity to receive the prize money.

While several of the past winners have served in the military, this is not a prerequisite. We encourage organizations and individuals to consider nominating someone who has demonstrated a commitment to service. Maybe this person is a military veteran. Or a food bank volunteer. Or a community leader. The list goes on.

The deadline for nominations is June 13. An online nomination form is available at semissourian.com/forms/spirit. Print forms continue to run in the newspaper and can be mailed to: Southeast Missourian, c/o assistant managing editor Lucas Presson, P.O. Box 699, Cape Girardeau, MO 63702.

Recipients from previous years are John "Doc" Yallaly, Dr. Dan Cotner, Melvin Gateley, Neal Edwards, James Harnes Sr., Jane Randol Jackson, Harry Rediger, Rob Callahan, David Hitt and Kent Zickfield.

Each year there are many deserving candidates. If you have previously nominated someone who has not won, please consider doing so again.

We look forward to recognizing the nominees this summer and presenting the 11th Spirit of America Award.