Cape Chamber of Commerce hosts annual banquet

Sunday, January 27, 2013
Moe Sandfort receives the Rush H. Limbaugh Award from the Cape Girardeau Area Chamber of Commerce at its annual banquet Friday, Jan. 26, 2013 at the Show Me Center. Sandfort poses with state Sen. Wayne Wallingford, left, Rep. Shelley Keeney and Rep. Kathy Swan. (Shay Alderman)

Longtime Cape Girardeau banker Maurice "Moe" Sandfort was honored with the Cape Girardeau Area Chamber of Commerce's highest acclaim Friday night at the organization's annual banquet at the Show Me Center.

Sandfort was one of several people and businesses honored.

Jim Limbaugh presented Sandfort with the Rush H. Limbaugh Award, which was created in 1989 and is given to a businessperson who has expended an exceptional effort on behalf of the community for a sustained period of time.

Sandfort was praised for his career in the banking industry and for his community service involvement in the Cape Girardeau area. He began his banking career in 1965 in St. Charles, Mo., before coming to Cape Girardeau in 1983. He culminated his career as president of The Bank of Missouri from 2005 to 2012. He served on the board of directors of the Cape Girardeau Area Chamber of Commerce from 1986 to 1989, and he was chairman of the board in 1988. Sandfort also held leadership positions on the Saint Francis Medical Center board of directors, Southeast Missouri University Foundation board of directors, Cape Girardeau Rotary Club board, Cape Girardeau Area Magnet, United Way of Southeast Missouri, Boy Scouts of America and Trinity Lutheran Church. he is married to Patricia Sandfort and they have six children.

The chairman of the chamber board of directors, Joel Neikirk of MidAmerica Hotels, acknowledged and thanked outgoing members of the board, and recognized current and new members in front of the 730 people in attendance.

Joined by Sen. Wayne Wallingford, R-Cape Girardeau, Rep. Kathy Swan, R-Cape Girardeau and Rep. Shelley Keeney, R-Marble Hill, Mo., Neikirk presented chamber ambassador Paula Myers of Alliance Bank with the Go-Getter Award. The award is given to a volunteer who has excelled in bringing new members to the organization, worked to retain current members, and represented the chamber at functions throughout the year.

SMC Electric and Cape Girardeau Public Schools were recognized for 50 years of uninterrupted membership. Both joined May 1, 1962.

Dr. James Stapleton, executive director of the Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship at Southeast Missouri State University, presented two recipients with the Small Business of the Year Award: Hendrickson Business Advisors and The Printing Co.

The Small Business of the Year Award was created in 1991 and is given to a business with 51 percent local ownership, has been in business for more than five years and employs no more than 50 people. The recipient is evaluated on business history and growth, financial soundness and profitability, customer satisfaction and reputation, employee relations, civic and business leadership and innovative product or service.

Accepting for Hendrickson Business Advisors were Rhett and Jennifer Hendrickson, who started the business out of their home in 2007. The company provides marketing and management consulting services to small and mid-sized businesses. Hendrickson Business Advisors also manages Faith Perceptions, created in 2008, to provide market research to churches. It also has a partnership with Dale Carnegie Training of St. Louis. Recently they also launched Murphy Business with the objective to assist clients in the valuation, buying and selling of businesses.

The Printing Co. began in 1987 with a single printing press and copy machine, and has grown to include such services as sales promotion and branding. The company has 25 full-time employees and locations in Cape Girardeau, Perryville, Mo., and Farmington, Mo. The Printing Co. aims to provide affordable creative design, high-quality print products and simplified mailing services. It offers thousands of apparel and promotional products.

Neikirk was recognized for his leadership and service on the board and introduced his successor, new chairman Thomas M. Meyer.

"We are honored to give such wonderful recognition to our volunteers and business leaders tonight," said John Mehner, president and CEO of the Cape Girardeau Area Chamber of Commerce in a news release. "We congratulate Hendrickson Business Advisors, The Printing Co., Moe Sandfort and Paula Myers for their commitment to the chamber and to their community. The Cape Girardeau Area Chamber of Commerce is blessed to have these wonderful people and businesses contributing so much to the Cape Girardeau area."


Pertinent address:

1333 North Sprigg St., Cape Girardeau, Mo.

Map of pertinent addresses

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: