April election filings close; Cape School Board to have new member

Wednesday, January 16, 2013

EDITOR'S NOTE: The filings for Chaffee City Council have been corrected.

There are two vacancies on the Cape Girardeau School Board, and at least one will go to a newly-elected member.

The filing deadline for April elections to decide several local races was Tuesday, and incumbents will run unopposed in most cases.

Three candidates to fill the two seats on the school board had submitted their names as of 3 p.m. Phil Moore has filed to renew his three-year term. Adrian Toole and Jeff Glenn also filed for seats on the board.

Incumbent Paul Nenninger on Tuesday said he would not be filing for another term and declined further comment.

Candidates could file until 5 p.m., but few typically submit their names on the final afternoon of the filing window, which opened in December.

Kathy Swan will depart the Cape Girardeau City Council because of her election to serve the 147th District in the Missouri House of Representatives. Wayne Bowen, chairman of the history department at Southeast Missouri State University and former Southeast Missourian columnist, was the only one to file for her Ward 6 position as of Tuesday afternoon. Bowen was the only person to pick up a petition to secure the required number of signatures.

In Jackson, incumbent Mayor Barbara Lohr filed to retain her seat, as did sitting aldermen Wanda Young of Ward 1, David Hitt of Ward 2, Mark Dambach of Ward 3 and Tommy Kimbel of Ward 4. Dambach is the only city official facing opposition. Michael A. Steinhilber filed to represent Ward 3 on the board. All filings were as of 3 p.m. Tuesday.

Voters will fill two seats on the Jackson School Board. Gerald Adams' and Dan Stover's three-year terms expired and both filed to run again. Three others added their names to the pool of candidates as of 3:30 p.m. Tuesday: Alaina Hinze, Brad Noel and Michele C. Irby.

In Perryville, Mo., Board of Aldermen races for wards 1, 2 and 3 will be decided in April. Larry Riney resubmitted his name for Ward 1, Douglas K. Martin will face incumbent Randy J. Leible in Ward 2, and Gary J. Schumer refiled for his Ward 3 seat.

Four seats are up for grabs on the Gordonville Fire Protection District board. In November, voters approved adding two members to the three-seat board. The new seats will be six- and four-year terms. Also to be filled is a two-year seat currently held by Collin McClanahan and a six-year seat currently held by Jeff Sneathen. McClanahan was appointed to fill out a term vacated by John Peters, who resigned. Sneathen was appointed to William "Bill" Craig's seat after Craig died in January, 2012, said clerk Susan Koerber.

Jeffery Crites filed to fill McClanahan's spot and Ronnie Amelunke Sr. filed for Sneathen's seat. Both will be appointed to the board, since they are unopposed, Koerber said.

Bob G. Andrews, Roger English and William Hampton filed for the new board seats. Voters will choose two names at the ballot in April. The front-runner will win the six-year spot and runner-up will secure the four-year term.



Map of pertinent addresses

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: