Club news

Sunday, January 13, 2013

John Guild Chapter NSDAR and Byrd Settlement Society CAR

A joint meeting of the John Guild Chapter, National Society, Daughters of the American Revolution and the Byrd Settlement Society, Children of the American Revolution was held  on Dec. 15, at Gordonville Grill in Gordonville. John Guild Chapter is a sponsor of the Byrd Settlement Society CAR.

Jack Lake is a member of Byrd Settlement Society CAR and is the Missouri state president of CAR. He was sworn into office in Washington, DC. He presented a very interesting program  on the activities of the state society, their plans and projects. The theme is "Laissez les bons temps rouler" (Let the good times roll) in Missouri CAR as they learn about Missouri's French colonial history and support the new heritage education classroom at Felix Valle State Historic Site in Ste. Genevieve, Mo., where site personnel will be able to teach about the history of Missouri and Ste. Genevieve. Funds are being raised by the sale of Fluer de lis pins and other projects.

Lake is a junior at Saxony Lutheran High School and is the son of Thad and Morgan Lake.

CAR distributed Mardi Gras necklaces to all in attendance.

No meeting will be held in January. The next meeting of the John Guild Chapter will be at 1 p.m. Feb. 20 at the Jackson City Library. The program will be given by Anita Smith, RD, CDE. Hostesses will be Beth Biri, Pam Johnson and Bonnie Macke.

SEMO District Fair Association

The annual meeting of the Southeast Missouri District Fair Association was held recently. Three people were elected to the board of directors: Danny Dewrock of Cape Girardeau, Sam Below of Delta, and Dave White of Chaffee.

Volunteer Service Awards were presented to David Wells of Jackson and Dude Huey of Cape Girardeau. The Fair Family Award was given to the Lanny Schweer family of Cape Girardeau. The Lifetime Achievement Award was awarded to Charles Mangels of Oak Ridge.

The board of directors met and elected officers: Pete Poe of Cape Girardeau, president; Darrell Aufdenberg of Jackson, vice president; Marilyn Schott of Jackson, secretary; Chris Weiss of Jackson, treasurer; and Lanny Schweer of Jackson, property custodian.

The 158th SEMO District Fair will be held Sept. 7 through 14.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: