who's neXt 6/7/12

Thursday, June 7, 2012


* The following local students have been awarded scholarships to attend Southeast Missouri State University for the 2012-2013 academic year: Clay Birk of Jackson received the Regents' Scholarship; Laura Myers of Scott City, John Lesar of Marble Hill, Mo., and Byron Stovall of Cape Girardeau all received the GED Scholarship; Trey Reisenbichler of Jackson received the President's Scholarship.

Neil Kanneberg

Honors, achievements

* Cadet Neil Kanneberg of Cape Girardeau graduated from the U.S. Military Academy. He was commissioned as a second lieutenant in the U.S. Army in the infantry branch and will report to Fort Benning, Ga., for his first assignment.

* Brad Main of Cape Girardeau graduated with honors from Loyola University in Chicago.

* Patrick Duffy and Nicole Gaither, both of Cape Girardeau, and Jonathan Simpher of Benton, Mo., were named to the spring 2012 dean's list at Westminster College in Fulton, Mo.

* Lydia Alford of Cape Girardeau and Elizabeth Engram of Sikeston, Mo., were named to the spring 2012 dean's list at Harding University in Searcy, Ark.

-- From staff reports

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: