Area digest 6/5/12

Tuesday, June 5, 2012

Stoverink, DaVault win tournament

Wesley Stoverink and Mike DaVault teamed to win the SEMO Horseshoe Association's 20-team tournament at the Scott City Knights of Columbus.

Jeff Miller and Terrie Rose finished second, while Dale Burger and Lachelle Cook were third.

The team of Ron LeGrand and Kelcee DaVault won the 16-team tournament at the Leopold Knights of Columbus.

Randy Senciboy and Rose took second, while Seth Landewee and Cook grabbed third.

The next tournament is scheduled for Saturday at the Backyard Club.

Bryant team wins golf scramble

The team of Tim Bryant, Clay Hurst, Bob Englehart and Bard Womack shot a 58 and won on a scorecard playoff to capture first place in the championship flight in the Cape West Rotary's tournament at Dalhousie Golf Club.

Terry Godwin, Jack Ford, Jeff Bierman and Joe McLemore were second, while Hugh Bissel, Denny Payne, Jim Laurentius and John Buffa took third.

The team of Cord McLaurin, Branlon Haribison, Brian Holligan and Adam Halegel shot a 63 to win A flight. Justin Bradley, Christopher Schneider, Clive Holiman and Brock Alspaugh were second with a 64, while Robert Meyer, Jay Holland, Bill Holland and Steve Schroeder were third with a 64.

The team of John Graf, Karen Graf, Rick Hetcel and Joe Domian won B flight with a 69.

Tony Buehrle, Donna Buehrle, Rita Fisher and Tim Fisher were second with a 70, while Doug Niswonger, Dave Turner, Donnie Niswonger and Bill Call were third with a 70.

Thurman wins youth triathlon

Jackson's Justin Thurman won the Cape Girardeau Parks and Recreation Department's youth triathlon.

Thurman covered the course in 28 minutes, 43.91 seconds.

Poplar Bluff's Katie Huskey was the first girls finisher (29:47.91).

Triathlon results


9 and 10 -- 1. Milo Greenfield, Cape Girardeau, 29:20.01; 2. Cole Thurman, Jackson, 34:09.44; 3. Ian Roth, Cape Girardeau, 39:52.89; 4. Peyton Redinger, Cape Girardeau, 40:31.87; 5. Dawson Jackson, Jackson, 46:46.58; 6. Reyt Middleton, Jackson, 49:34.76

17 and 18 -- 1. Justin Thurman, Jackson, 28:43.91


9 and 10 -- 1. Ricki Vaughan, Cape Girardeau, 37:48.27; 2. Bella Douglas, Cape Girardeau, 39:22.60; 3. Libby Ogburn, Cape Girardeau, 39:25.60; 4. Rilee Leckie, Jackson, 40:23.10; 5. Reagan Leckie, Jackson, 49:48.07

11 and 12 -- 1. Zoie Roth, Cape Girardeau, 31:06.25

13 and 14 -- 1. Katie Huskey Poplar Bluff, 29:47.91


Boys -- 1. Avery Perez, Alec Perez, Nathan Phelps, 29:39.51

1 mile results


6 to 8 -- 1. Nick Wasilewski, Jackson, 7:34.35; 2. Tad Couch, Cape Girardeau, 7:52.66; 3. Tye Thorne, Cape Girardeau, 7:56.18


6 to 8 -- 1. Madison Phelps, Cape Girardeau, 8:23.23; 2. Sadie Middleton, Jackson, 8:24.52; 3. Nadia Wasilewski, Jackson, 8:35.86; 4. Kate Hopper, Cape Girardeau, 8:39.56

HALF mile results


3 to 5 -- 1. Tayton Thorne, Cape Girardeau, 4:13.86; 2. T.J. Bolen, Jackson, 4:22.53; 3. William Thomas, Jackson, 4:48.42; 4. Kade King, Jackson, 5:02.84; 5. Owen Leckie, Jackson, 5:19.06


3 to 5 -- 1. Sydney Miller, Cape Girardeau, 6:53.97

Bray wins age division at golf tourney

Cape Girardeau's Allison Bray carded a 12-over-par 84 to win the girls 15 and younger 18 holes division of the Gateway Junior PGA Series tournament at Eagle Springs Golf Course in St. Louis.

Bray carded seven pars during her round, including on three of the final four holes.

Bray won her division by seven shots.

Himmelberg earns academic honor

Notre Dame Regional High School graduate Mark Himmelberg was named to the Capital One Academic All-America Division II baseball team, which is selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America.

Himmelberg, a senior at Rockhurst University, went 8-2 with a 2.58 ERA with 58 strikeouts over 73 1/3 innings for the Hawks.

He graduated last month with a 3.92 grade-point average after majoring in accounting.

An athlete must be a starter or key reserve, maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.30 or better on a 4.0 scale and be at least a sophomore to be eligible.

-- From staff reports

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: