Mid-America Juried Arts Exhibition

Thursday, August 11, 2011
Dr. Edwin Smith announces the winners of the Mid-America Juried Arts Exhibition while Kathryn Breitenstein, Honorable Mention Winner, and patrons of the Arts Council look on.

The Arts Council of Southeast Missouri hosted the Mid-America Juried Arts Exhibition and the 2011 Summer Arts Academy for its August First Friday activities. Nearly 400 people were in attendance.

The Mid-America Juried Arts Exhibit, sponsored by Bank of Missouri, as well as private sponsors, features 40 works by local artists as well as artist from Arkansas, Iowa, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee. The competition was open to artists in 14 "Mid-America" states with a total award amount of $1,800. Dr. Mick Luehrman was the Juror of Selection. Dr. Luehrman is Professor of Art and in his fifth year as Chair of the Department of Art & Design at the University of Central Missouri. Dr. Edwin L. Smith was the Juror of Awards. Dr. Smith, a native Missourian, received his Doctorate of Education from the University of Kansas. He taught Art in local public schools for 11 years and additional 34 years at Southeast Missouri State University.

Dr. Smith announced the winners at Friday's show. Best of Show ($1,000) went to Judi Brey of Cape Girardeau, MO for her watercolor, "Gabriella." First Place ($500) went to Joseph Anthony Pearson of New Orleans, Louisiana for his oil on canvas, "Disparity." Second Place ($200) went to Juanita Wyman of Ste. Genevieve, MO for her watercolor/pastel, "All that is Old is Beautiful - Ersingen, Germany." Third Place ($100) went to Barbara Calvin of Cape Girardeau, MO for her watercolor, "Once There Were Trains." Honorable Mention Awards went to Kathryn Breitenstein's "The Barter," Barbara Ross' "The Bell Tower," and Sue Burton-Cole's "Untitled I."

Our future painters and sculptors from the Summer Arts Academy, co-sponsored by Southeast Missouri State University and the Arts Council, were on display in the Lorimier Gallery. The Arts Council is always pleased to display art made by the children of our community! A hearty thanks goes to the teachers of the Academy who made the gallery look so inviting: Heather Alfaro, Carol Horst, Brenda Seyer, Elizabeth Thomas, and Sharon Williams.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: