FEMA extends deadline, announces closure of center in Morehouse

Friday, July 29, 2011

The Federal Emergency Management Agency has extended its disaster assistance application deadline to Aug. 26 for renters, homeowners and business owners who suffered damages from severe storms, tornadoes and floods.

"Don't prejudge your situation or feel that you may be taking something away from your neighbor," Federal Coordinating Officer Libby Turner said in a news release. "We want to make every effort to reach all Missourians and ensure that they receive assistance for eligible losses."

Turner urged applicants to ask for identification when inspectors arrive. FEMA and U.S. Small Business Administration inspectors all have photo identification badges.

FEMA also announced that the disaster recovery center in Morehouse, Mo., will be closed after Aug. 6. Since May 17, more than 1,100 people have been served at recovery centers in Morehouse.

Registration may be completed online at www.disasterassistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-3362.

Assistance to individuals can include grants for temporary housing, essential home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance or other sources. Low-interest disaster loans from the SBA are also available.

Renters, homeowners and businesses in the following 25 Missouri counties are eligible to apply for disaster assistance: Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Dunklin, Howell, Jasper, Lawrence, McDonald, Mississippi, New Madrid, Newton, Pemiscot, Pettis, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Saint Francois, Saint Louis, Scott, Stoddard, Stone, Taney and Wayne.

Pertinent address

Morehouse, Mo.

Map of pertinent addresses

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: