Deadline to apply for disaster benefits looms

Wednesday, June 22, 2011 ~ Updated 1:26 PM

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. -- The deadline is approaching for victims of Missouri's recent storms, flooding and tornadoes to register for disaster assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

The deadline for all storm survivors from around the state is July 8.

Victims who register with FEMA will be eligible for grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-interest U.S. Small Business Administration disaster loans to cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recovery programs, and other programs to help individuals and business owners get back on their feet.

Applicants can register online at or by calling 1-800-621-3362. Telephone registration is available 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., seven days a week.

FEMA is presently providing disaster assistance to residents in 22 Missouri counties. The Presidential Disaster Declaration authorizes disaster assistance to homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes in the counties of Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Dunklin, Howell, Jasper, McDonald, Mississippi, New Madrid, Newton, Pemiscot, Pettis, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, St. Francois, St. Louis, Scott, Stoddard, Stone, and Taney.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: