More counties added to federal disaster declaration

Friday, May 27, 2011

Five more Southeast Missouri counties have been added to a federal disaster declaration that includes seven other local counties cleaning up after recent flooding.

Residents in Bollinger, Dunklin, Pemiscot, Reynolds and St. Francis counties are now eligible for individual federal assistance to cover uninsured losses or expenses, such as temporary housing, home repair, replacement of household items and medical bills.

Other counties already designated are Cape Girardeau, Ripley, Scott, Stoddard, New Madrid, Mississippi and Butler.

People with any amount of damage from storms and flooding since April 19 in these counties should register with FEMA. People may call 800-621-3362 to register or visit Once residents are registered, they will receive a 9-digit confirmation number and within a few days will be contacted by a FEMA inspector who will schedule an appointment to survey their damage.

Local governments in several Southeast Missouri counties are also now eligible for public assistance funds to help repair damaged roads and infrastructure. These are Bollinger, Scott, Stoddard, Reynolds, Butler, Iron, Madison, Perry, Ste. Genevieve and Wayne counties.

Mississippi County, where much of the 130,000 acres intentionally flooded by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers' breach of the Birds Point levee is still underwater has not been added to the list for public assistance at this time. It's likely to be added later.

"It's hard to assess the full extent of the damage when damage is still being done," FEMA spokesman John Mills said.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: