Local HS Student Receives State Citizenship Award

Monday, May 2, 2011
Megan Alexis Davis of Patton, Missouri

One local student was one of fifteen public high school students honored April 18th in Jefferson City by the State Board of Education and the Missouri Bar as recipients of the 2011 Outstanding Achievement in Citizenship Award. Megan Alexis Davis, a senior at Meadow Heights High School of Patton was presented with a plaque and a $50 savings bond to commemorate her achievement.

This award has been presented annually since 1990. The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education conducts the program with assistance and financial support from the Bar. Honorees are recognized during a luncheon at the Governor's Mansion in Jefferson City.

All 2011 recipients are:

John Baughman, Carl Junction High School

Sarah Bever-Chritton, Blue Springs South High School

Jacob Blaskie, Sullivan High School

Natalie Branch, Lee's Summit High School

Andrew Darst, Fort Zumwalt West High School

Megan Davis, Meadow Heights High School

Jackson Gooch, Van-Far High School

Michael Hoosier, Warrenton High School

Kayla Lagud, Lee's Summit North High School

Caroline Levens, Parkway Central High School

Jennifer Mahan, Parkway South High School

Stephanie Murphy, Pacific High School

Lucy Short, Webster Groves High School

Clarkson Wischmeier, De Soto High School

Shelby Yates, Smithville High School

The awards were presented by Russell Still, member of the State Board of Education; Ron Lankford, deputy commissioner at the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; and John Johnston, president of the Missouri Bar.

Every public high school is eligible to nominate one senior for the citizenship award. Students are selected on the basis of their academic achievement in civics and government courses, performance in civics and government-related extracurricular activities, and exemplary community service. Students also must submit an essay about the importance of citizenship.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: