Holloway, Baker named to all-state first team in soccer

Thursday, December 16, 2010
Clayton Baker

A pair of local soccer players earned first-team all-state honors from the Missouri State High School Soccer Coaches Association after helping lead their teams to postseason runs.

Notre Dame junior goalkeeper James Holloway earned Class 2 first-team honors, while Jackson junior midfielder Clayton Baker earned the same honor in Class 3.

Holloway posted 14 shutouts for the Bulldogs this season. He also earned goalkeeper of the year honors for the Southeast region.

Baker also was named the Class 3 Southeast region player of the year, while teammates Law Duncan was the offensive player of the year and Cody Boehme was the defensive player of the year. Jackson coach Zack Walton was named the region's coach of the year for leading the Indians to their first sectional title in school history. Jackson finished ninth in the season's final poll.

Notre Dame senior midfielder Tyler Buelow made the Class 2 all-state second team, while Perryville junior forward Bryce Weibrecht earned honorable mention.

Holloway (James)

Boehme earned second-team honors in Class 3.

Saxony Lutheran's Matt Stueve, who helped lead the Crusaders to a district championship, was named to the all-state second team in Class 1. Teammates Ryan Sprandel and Shawn Hadler earned honorable mention.

Local all-region honorees

Class 1

First team -- Matt Stueve, Saxony Lutheran, sr., GK; Ryan Sprandel, Saxony Lutheran, sr., MF; Shawn Hadler, Saxony Lutheran, sr., D

Class 2

Goalkeeper of the year -- James Holloway, Notre Dame

First team -- Jonathan Lynch, Notre Dame, jr., F; Bryce Weibrecht, Perryville, jr., F; James Holloway, Notre Dame, jr., GK; Tyler Buelow, Notre Dame, sr., MF

Second team -- Alex Robinson, Perryville, jr., MF

Class 3

Player of the year -- Clayton Baker, Jackson

Offensive player of the year -- Law Duncan, Jackson

Defensive player of the year -- Cody Boehme, Jackson

Coach of the year -- Zack Walton, Jackson

First team -- Myles Edwards, Central, sr., D; Vance Toole, Central, jr., D; Hunter Garrison, Jackson, sr., D; Ryan Schlick, Jackson, jr., D; Law Duncan, Jackson, jr., F; Cody Boehme, Jackson, sr., D; Jesse Hurt, Central, sr., MF; Clayton Baker, Jackson, jr., MF


Two Central players were rewarded with postseason honors after helping the Tigers tie the school record for victories during their 10-2 campaign.

Senior running back Keilon Moore and senior offensive lineman Zach Horrell both were named to the Missouri Football Coaches Association's all-state third team.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: