Aug. 3 Missouri primary election night report

Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Update 10:50 p.m.

Wayne Wallingford has won the Republican primary for 158th district state representative.

Wayne Wallingford

All votes in Cape Girardeau County were finally tallied just before 11 p.m., and Wallingford beat Debra Tracy 2,584 to 2,519.

Other Cape Girardeau County winners include Clint Tracy, who earned the Republican nod for presiding commissioner and Donna Lichtenegger, who won the Republican nomination for 157th district state representative over Gerald Adams. Adams gained more votes in Cape Girardeau County, but votes in Perry County put Lichtenegger on top.

Updated 10:30 p.m.

A faulty memory card is causing delays in Cape Girardeau County voting tabulations.

Clint Tracy

Data from three precincts, including Fruitland, Gordonville and Bryd 3, is being manually entered by election workers from a tape printed out from the ballot counting machine, said Cape Girardeau County Clerk Kara Clark Summers.

Both the Cape Girardeau County presiding commissioner GOP race and the 157th district state representative GOP race have already been decided without the extra precincts, but the 158th district state representative GOP contest is too close to call.

With three precincts still out, Wayne Wallingford leads Debra Tracy 2,349 to 2,220

Updated 10 p.m.

With only two Cape Girardeau city precincts left to report the Transportation Trust Fund tax looks to be well on its way to being renewed. Yes votes led no votes 3,187 to 2,597.

Updated 9:30 p.m.

With only two precincts left to report in the 157th Missouri House district GOP primary, Donna Lichtenegger has won the party nomination with 3,140 votes to Gerald Adams's 2,777.

Incumbent U.S. Rep. Jo Ann Emerson has won the Republican nomination in her race against Bob Parker. With 378 of 471 precincts reporting, Emerson leads 35,753 to 18,453. Tommy Sowers, a Democrat running unopposed for his party's nomination, received 23,908 votes. Libertarian Rick Vandeven, also unopposed, received 165 votes.

Updated 9 p.m.

With 21 of 35 precincts reporting, state Rep. Clint Tracy's lead in the Republican presiding commissioner race should result in his winning the party nomination. Tracy's lead has risen to 36.60 percent with 2,554 votes. Stephen Daume has 20.05 percent with 1,399 votes, Jay C. Purcell has 19 percent with 1,326 votes, Christopher L. Hutson has 12.92 percent with 902 votes, Charles Brawley has 9.73 percent with 679 votes and Doyle Parmer has 1.71 percent with 119 votes.

Democrat Pat Wissman has taken a 56.79 percent lead over Brian Thomas who has 43.21 percent in that party's presiding commissioner primary.

Scott R. Clark has taken a 51.26 percent lead in the Republican recorder of deeds primary with 3,166 votes. Shelly Lane has 48.74 percent with 3,010 votes.

Updated 8:50 p.m.

Scott County residents who went to the polls Tuesday chose to re-elect Paul Boyd as Scott County prosecuting attorney, who beat out his predecessor Cristy Baker-Neel by 560 votes.

Votes for Boyd, first elected to the position in 2002, total 1,697, while Baker-Neel received 1,137 votes.

In an interview prior to the election, Boyd said he decided to run for re-election the day he sought the office in 2002.

"I said back then it would take a good decade to make a difference in any kind of situation where there's been neglect," he said. "I think there's a different atmosphere in the county now."

Voters in Scott City overwhelmingly approved a 10-year extension of the city's quarter-cent sales tax with 69 percent of the vote on Tuesday.

The measure was approved with 386 yes votes in favor of the extension and 173 votes against it.

The sales tax generates between $70,000 and $80,000 per year and is used to fund capital improvements in Scott City.

Voters in Kelso overwhelmingly approved the renewal of a property tax levy for fire protection.

The measure, which was approved by 91.8 percent of voters who cast ballots Tuesday, extends the tax of 13 cents per $100 assessed valuation, for four years.

A total of 146 votes were cast in favor of the tax while 13 votes were cast against it.

Kelso Mayor Larry McClain said the tax revenue is used to pay the Scott City Fire Department to serve the 225 homes in the Kelso area.

The tax generates about $12,000 annually, McClain said.

Updated 8:35 p.m.

In the Republican primary for 158th district state representative, Wayne Wallingford leads Debra Tracy with 53.5 percent of the vote. With 11 of 18 precincts reporting Wallingford has 942 votes to Tracy's 818 votes.

With 15 of 31 precincts reporting, Donna Lichtenegger is holding a slight lead over Gerald Adams in the Republican primary for 157th district state representative. Lichtenegger has 1,361 votes to Adams's 1,272 in the Republican primary.

Updated 8:25 p.m.

With five of 31 precincts reporting in the Republican primary for 157th district state representative, Donna Lichtenegger has opened up a lead over Gerald Adams, 615 to 424. The race includes parts of Cape Girardeau County (including Jackson) and Perry County.

The Associated Press has called the Republican primary for the U.S. Senate seat being vacated by Kit Bond for U.S. Rep. Roy Blunt.

Updated 8:05 p.m.

Five precincts have now reported in Cape Girardeau County, and state Rep. Clint Tracy maintains the lead in the Republican primary for presiding commissioner.

Tracy had 1,060 votes with five of 35 precincts reporting. Second was Stephen Daume with 657, followed by Jay Purcell, 470, Chris Hutson, 395, Charles Brawley, 260 and Doyle Parmer, 38.

On the Democratic side, Pat Wissman led Brian Thomas 142 to 90.

Republican primary voting was close in the 157th and 158th district state representative races. In the 157th, Donna Lichtenegger led Gerald Adams 546 to 539. In the 158th, Wayne Wallingford led Debra Tracy 365 to 359.

Updated 7:55 p.m.

The Associated Press reports that Robin Carnahan has won the Democratic nomination for the U.S. Senate seat being vacated by Republican Kit Bond.

Updated 7:50 p.m.

Donna Lichtenegger jumped out to an early lead in absentee balloting in the race for 157th district state representative. Lichtenegger had 148 Republican primary votes compared to 116 for Gerald Adams.

Updated 7:45 p.m.

Incumbent Republican U.S. Rep. Jo Ann Emerson enjoyed an early lead over challenger Bob Parker in the party primary, with 1,031 votes compared to 565. Only 14 of 471 precincts were reporting.

Democrat Tommy Sowers, running unopposed in his party's primary, had received 834 votes. Libertarian Rick Vandeven of Chaffee, also unopposed, had nine votes.

7:35 p.m.

Absentee totals have been tallied in Cape Girardeau County. Early on, state Rep. Clint Tracy has a large lead in the Republican race for presiding commissioner, with 279 votes. The next highest vote getter is Stephen Daume, with 100, followed by Chris Hutson, 84, Jay Purcell, 71, Charles Brawley, 42 and Doyle Parmer, 10.

In the Democratic primary, Pat Wissman had 34 absentee votes to Brian Thomas's 22.

In the Republican primary for 158th district state representative, Debra Tracy led Wayne Wallingford 123 to 118.

In Cape Girardeau County absentee voting, 182 voted yes on the Transportation Trust Fund tax and 125 voted no. On the Proposition C ballot measure regarding health care, 503 voted yes and 129 voted no.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: