18 SEMO athletes earn OVC academic honors

Friday, July 23, 2010

Eighteen Southeast Missouri State athletes claimed Ohio Valley Conference Medals of Honor for the 2009-2010 academic year, the league announced Thursday.

The Medal of Honor is given annually to the athlete who achieves the highest grade-point average in a conference-sponsored sport.

Southeast's 18 honorees came from a total of 145 around the OVC. All had perfect 4.0 GPAs.

Southeast's Molly Davis (volleyball) received her fourth straight Medal of Honor. Jim Klocke (baseball), Josh Syberg (baseball), Paige Dossey (volleyball), Audrey Harwood (track) and Lauren McNamara (track) were each awarded their second Medal of Honor.

Brennan Malham (baseball), Mark Zisser (cross country and track), J.J. Sanchez (football), Kelly Goehring (soccer), Stephanie Kulavic (soccer), Whitney Dupuis (softball), Giana Zimmerman (softball), Elise Nattier (women's tennis), Nicole Novikova (women's tennis), Sarah Pettigrew (women's tennis) and Juli Koenegstein (track) each received their first Medal of Honor.

The women's tennis team had multiple Medal of Honor winners for the first time in program history.

Sanchez is the first member of the football team to win the award since Matt Boyack during the 2006-2007 school year.

The Redhawks had the most Medal of Honor recipients among OVC schools in baseball and women's tennis with three apiece.

In other academic awards, Southeast baseball, women's tennis and men's cross country received the OVC Team Academic Achievement Award, given annually to the squad with the greatest percentage of athletes on the OVC Commissioner's Honor Roll.

Men's cross country earned its fifth Team Academic Achievement Award in the past six years.

A school-record total of 136 Southeast athletes made the Commissioner's Honor Roll, which requires a 3.25 GPA or better.

Baseball had a record 20 named to the honor roll. Men's cross country and women's tennis had all members of their teams named to the honor roll with nine and seven, respectively.

All 20 gymnasts were also named to the honor roll, tying baseball for the most among Southeast squads.

Morehead State won the OVC Institutional Academic Achievement Award presented annually to the institution with the greatest percentage of its athletes on the Commissioner's Honor Roll.

Southeast's Commissioner's Honor Roll recipients can be found at gosoutheast.com.

*** Soccer adds player

The Southeast women's soccer program has signed its 11th new player for the upcoming season.

Ashton Aubuchon played at Hazelwood West High School in suburban St. Louis this year as a junior. It was her only season of high school competition after being previously home-schooled.

Aubuchon elected to sign after accumulating the necessary classes and credits required by the NCAA to compete collegiately. According to Southeast she is, at 17, the youngest current women's soccer player in NCAA Division I.

Aubuchon was the starting goalkeeper for a team that finished with a 25-2 record and was ranked as high as 31st nationally at one point in the season. she had a 16-1 record, 11 shutouts and an 0.45 goals against average.

Dabney new TSU coach

Jeff Dabney, a Southeast softball assistant the past two seasons, has been hired as the new coach at fellow OVC member Tennessee State.

Dabney served as the Redhawks' pitching and catching coach and worked with the slap hitters. He was also the team's recruiting coordinator and directed the conditioning program.

Before his position at Southeast, Dabney was the coach at North Florida Community College. He has also been coach at Neosho County (Kan.) Community College and an assistant at Florida.

-- From staff reports

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: