Club news 5/4/05

Wednesday, May 4, 2005

Cape County FCE

The Southeast Missouri Spring District FCE held its spring district meeting on April 19 at Sedgwickville United Methodist Church. There were 75 women from seven counties present, including Cape Girardeau County. The theme for the meeting was "Put on a happy face with FCE" and was hosted by the Bollinger County FCE clubs.

Betty Schalk, president of the Southeast Missouri District, called the meeting to order. Caleb Darwin of Wayne County presented his Southeast Missouri District winning essay on respect. He is a fourth-grade student.

Lillian Becker of the Greenville, Mo., Home Improvement FCE Club was recognized as being a 50-year member.

A silent auction was held.

Capaha Scottish Rite Women's Club

The April meeting of the Capaha Scottish Rite Women's Club was held at Delmonico's in Jackson. The meeting was led by Luella Armstrong, president.

Doris Hurst and Norma Yost read articles titled "The Old Farmer," "As It is" and "Busy."

The May meeting will be held at Delmonico's with Debbie Hay as hostess and Armstrong as program chairman.

Oak Ridge Homemakers FCE

Nelda Crader announced at the April meeting of the Oak Ridge Homemakers FCE Club that Carole Jo Byrd had received the Missouri Heart of FCE Award given to a grassroots member who has made a difference in their communities through their FCE work. Byrd is a 52-year member who completed a book of Oak Ridge FCE work reports that led the club to receive the top award in Cape Girardeau County. Byrd and her husband, Jack, will receive the Missouri award at the NAFCE National Conference in Anchorage, Alaska.

Crader also announced that Kim Begley had won the Missouri "Oh you beautiful doll" contest by making and entering her doll in the contest at the Southeast Missouri District level. Her doll was presented to Gov. Matt Blunt.

Eleven members attended the meeting held at Mary Dee Ford's home, where reports of recent county meetings were discussed by the group.

Betty Dellinger, president, reviewed profits on a Kiwanis banquet prepared and served by the club at the Elks Lodge. She also reported and made plans with the ladies for a wedding reception to be prepared May 14. These meals give the club money to operate in the community.

Programs on international peace garden, bullies and hummingbirds were given. Donations were made to the Missouri Veteran's Home and the American Cancer Society.

Oak Ridge After-School 4-H

The Oak Ridge After-School 4-H Club met April 27 at the Oak Ridge Elementary School library with 16 members, two leaders and eight guests present. Dakota Oehl presided over the meeting. Janelle Myers, Morgan Smith, Nicole Meyer and Michaela Oehl led the songs, and Tyler Maintz and Thomas Shirrell led the pledges.

Demonstrations were given by Shelby Mangels on cooking; Lane Lukefahr on 3-D drawing; Nicole Myers on how to use bakery equipment; Michaela Oehl and Janelle Myers on the correct way to say 4-H pledges; and Dakota Oehl on how to use a cross-cut saw. Crystal Zoellner reported on making candles and soap.

Laureate Alpha Rho

The Laureate Alpha Rho chapter of Beta Sima Phi met April 21 for a social gathering with lunch at Red Lobster.

Several members attended the annual Founder's Day Banquet held on April 28 at the Jackson Knights of Columbus Hall. Norma Schrieber was named new girl of the year. She has been the treasurer for the chapter and will become vice president for 2005 to 2006.

The next meeting will be Thursday at the home of Rosanna Whitnel.

Nancy Hunter NSDAR

The Nancy Hunter Chapter of NSDAR met April 27 at the Cape Girardeau Public Library. Dr. Frank Nickell gave a program on the history behind the paintings on the floodwall in downtown Cape Girardeau.

Dorothy Points led the rituals.

The purchase of a flagpole to be donated to Fort D was discussed. SAR and DAC will join the chapter in the purchase.

Ruth Lang gave the treasury report and Catherine Allison read the minutes. Both were accepted.

Allison was asked to give a two-year history of the Nancy Hunter Chapter to be sent into state.

Points reported that not all of the Veterans Home ladies, the group sponsor, will be able to attend our the luncheon on May 25 at the Cape Girardeau Country Club.

140th National Guard

Former members of the 140th National Guard planning committee met April 28. The minutes were read and approved, and John Lorberg gave the treasury report.

Robert Clifton, president, thanked all members for the hard work they did to have a successful reunion. He also welcome Dennis and Barbara Hurst as new committee members.

Dub Suedekum gave a report on progress of the plans for the memorial. He reported he had not had an answer from Sen. Kit Bond's office and is still working on a speaker. He said there is no way things will be ready to have the dedication on the date planned with all the rainy weather slowing down plans on forming the foundation. The dedication has been changed to June 18.

Clifton announced there is enough decorative ribbon to use for future reunions. Leon Dickerson said he paid for 150 members to attend the reunion held March 18. Members of the 1140th were invited to attend. Some of the members of this 140th were also members of 1140th.

The next committee meeting will be June 9.

American Legion Post 158

The Altenthal-Joerns American Legion Post 158 met with Gary Kamp, commander, presiding. Charles Hutson was awarded an award for his service above and beyond the call.

Richard Aguilar gave the financial report. John Hopkins gave a members report. There are 592 members of the post.

Lou Crites reminded that Memorial Day is this month and assistance is needed to get the flags on all the graves for that day.

Bill Poe reported that the prizes for Homecomers have been arranged.

Bill Strock, flag chairman, reported on flags provided. Bob Hartle, honor guard chairman, reported on honor guard activities and that the next meeting will be the fourth Monday in May.

Jim Nelson reported on contributions to the memorial scholarship program were made from Norman Short in memory of Grub Short, Paul Short and Albert Bertling; Jim and Evelyn Nelson in memory of Joe Fisher; and Friends of Legion Post 158 Club Room in memory of Carl Wallman.

Ken Koehler made a motion for the second vote to support the American Legion baseball teams in the amount of $3,961 this year. The motion was seconded and passed.

Kamp informed members that Virgil Whitener, Byron Fluegge and Hutson have been selected for a nominations committee. He also reported there is a need for someone to take over the hamburger stand responsibilities from Bill Sullivan. Any member willing to accept the assignment should let him Kamp know.

The commander read several notes and thank-you notes. Any members wanting to attend the annual Department of Missouri Convention in Springfield, Mo., July 7 through 10 should let the adjutant know.

Hutson announced that past commanders will meet at 6 p.m. on May 18 at Delmonico's.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: