The Jackson Optimist 2010 Oratorical Winners

The Optimist Club of Jackson is proud to present the winners of the Oratorical Contest of 2010. Pictured from left to right is: Steven Sebaugh (Oratorical Chairman), Kyle Randolph (2nd Runner Up), Cole Blanton (Winner), Riley Bauer (1st Runner Up), and Ashley Laurentius (Winner). Prizes were pins, medals, and 100 and 75 dollar saving bonds. The Oratorical Contest was started in 1928 and has become the longest running youth program sponsored by Optimist International. Nearly 2000 Clubs participate in this program each year. The contest is designed for teens to gain experience in public speaking and to provide them with the opportunity to win up to a 2,500 dollar college scholarship at the district level. Each year in February the two Optimist Clubs in Jackson host an Oratorical Contest.