who's neXt 1/28/10

Thursday, January 28, 2010


The following students received scholarships to attend Southeast Missouri State University for the 2010-2011 school year:

* Justine M. Hulshof of Benton, Mo., received a President's Scholarship and a Missouri Assessment Program Scholarship.

* Lynn McKuin of Delta and Alex K. Lasher of Cape Girardeau, received a Regent's Scholarship.

* Jacob P. Conklin of Cape Girardeau, received a President's Plus Scholarship.

Honors, achievements

* Ben Dohogne, an eighth-grader at St. Mary Cathedral School, won the schoolwide geography bee on Jan. 12.

* The following Jackson High School students were named to the Missouri All-State Band: Jordan Whitener, senior on flute; Eric Koenig, senior on bassoon; Hannah Fisher, senior on clarinet; Samantha Hadden, junior on alto clarinet; Trevor Smith, senior on alto saxophone; Tim Clasby, freshman on contra alto clarinet; Peter Graham, senior on baritone saxophone and Victoria Hosler, sophomore on percussion. Taylor Dickerson, a sophomore on English horn, was also named to the Missouri All-State Orchestra. The students will perform this week at the Missouri Music Educators Conference at Tan-Tar-A resort.

* Erika Reinagel of Kelso, Mo., was named to the fall dean's list of Central Methodist University in Fayette, Mo.

* Dylan M. Blumenthal of Jackson was named to the fall academic honor roll of Northwestern Missouri State University in Maryville, Mo.

* Mindy Siebert of Cape Girardeau was named to the fall dean's list at Greenville College in Greenville, Il.

* Travis Pinkerton of Jackson, Devon James of Marble Hill, Mo., and Landon Weber of Altenburg, Mo., were named to the fall dean's list at Linn State Technical College in Linn, Mo.

* Sarah Detring of Jackson was named to the fall dean's list at the University of Mississippi in Oxford, Miss.

* The following were named to the fall dean's list at Truman State University in Kirksville, Mo.:

Cape Girardeau: Anna Bailey, Hailey Brown, Rachel Henson, James Thompson, Nicholas Welker

Jackson: Mark Feiner, Ira King, Ryan Welker, Robert Williamson

Oran: Gina Moroni

* The following students were named to the fall dean's list at Rockhurst University in Kansas City, Mo.:

Cape Girardeau: Benjamin Bira, Mark Himmelberg, Theresa Kiblinger, Karrie Moeckel and Brianna LeGrand

Chaffee, Mo.: Edward Doyle

Jackson: Ryan Bass

* The following were named to the fall honor's list at Missouri University of Science and Technology in Rolla, Mo.:

Altenburg: Royce Bohnert and Jesse Eichhorn

Cape Girardeau: Karl Bratcher, Cassandra Browne, Elizabeth Buchheit, Eric Farrow, Darris Gerlach Jr., Timothy Gramling, Jessie Hahn, Kristen Hinton, Aaron Huey, John Kiblinger, Garion Lovig, Michael McBride, Brittany Moreland, Renee Moreland, Tyler Payne, Andreas Scheibe, Kyle Schutte, Brock Seabaugh, Michael Sprengel, Conrad Westrich

Chaffee, Mo.: Jakob Michael Essner

Jackson: Tyler Engelhart, Andrew Etzold, Gregory Gibson, Tyler James, Justin Quade, Ryan Roth, Travis Roth, Jared Schoen, Sarah Sutterer, Ashley Taylor, Brooke Taylor

-- From staff reports

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: