Thanks, educators

Wednesday, April 13, 2005

Using classroom experience to benefit students and a desire to see students excel have captured the attention of two area chambers of commerce as they select educators to receive special honors for their hard work. Educators of the year were recently selected by the Cape Girardeau and Jackson chambers.

These teachers and administrators model what is best about education in our region. They are being recognized for their years of experience and the valuable knowledge they share with students. They're people who relate to students and care about what they teach.

These teachers are the cream of the crop, and Southeast Missouri is privileged to have them. As a means of recognizing their dedication, the chambers of commerce select outstanding educators each year for special recognition.

Cape Girardeau's winners from primary and secondary schools include Larry Cleair, Pete Frazier, David Fuemmeler and Mary Mims. Dr. Adelaide Parsons was chosen as university educator of the year. They will be honored at a banquet May 5.

Jackson educators David Gross, Sharlett Eftink, Becky Riney and Nancy Seyer were selected by their city's chamber. They will be honored at a banquet April 21.

Our communities and our children are better places to live and have families because of some of the state's best teachers. These educators and all their peers deserve our appreciation for their hard work and dedication to their profession.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: