Coaches tab three from area for honors

Monday, March 28, 2005

The Missouri Basketball Coaches Association announced its all-state basketball team on the association's Web site last week. The team was picked during the state tournament by representatives of the association's geographic regions.

Scott City senior Mark Dannenmueller was among the players named to the Class 3 all-state team, while St. Vincent senior Alex Armbruster was named to the Class 2 team, and Bell City junior Jeff Liggins was named to the Class 1 team.

No local girls were named to the team.

The association selects 15 players in each division.

The all-state selections of the Missouri Sportswriters and Sportscasters also were made during the state tournament and will be released soon through The Associated Press.

The MOBCA team appears on Page 2B.

Historic win

The Oran boys track team ended a four-year title drought by winning the title at the three-team Chaffee Meet on Wednesday.

The Oran boys scored 69 points to outpoint Chaffee (44) and Saxony Lutheran (39).

Preston Walter won the 100-meter dash, and Nick Anderson won the 200. Oran also sprinted to the 400 relay title and won the 800 relay as well.

Oran also picked up two wins in the field with Jordan Mason winning the triple jump and Hunter Glastetter winning the long jump.

The Oran girls had four individual champions in their third-place finish: Wendy Eftink in the discus, Brittany Rhodes in the 200, Sierra Glueck in the triple jump and Louise Anderson in 1,600. The Eagles also won the 800 relay.

Hansbrough wins award

Poplar Bluff senior Tyler Hansbrough was honored as the Missouri boys basketball Player of the Year by Gatorade Thirst Quencher.

North Carolina recruit Hansbrough led Poplar Bluff to a second straight Class 5 state title en route to earning the 20th annual award. Hansbrough averaged 28.3 points, 12.7 rebounds and shot 83 percent from the free throw line.


The Scott-Mississippi Conference's all-conference girls basketball list didn't include the schools for players chosen to the team. That, combined with a misspelling, led to a player not being listed last week when the local players were published. Scott City senior Christy Laxton was selected to the first team.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: