All-conference March23

Wednesday, March 23, 2005

Scott City senior Mark Dannenmueller was named the Scott-Mississippi Conference's player of the year, and first-year Kelly coach Cory Johnson was the coach of the year.

Dannenmueller set a school record by averaging 28 points per game in his senior season.

Kelly finished 21-6 in Johnson's first season and lost in the district championship to eventual Class 3 runner-up Charleston.

Kelly senior Kelly Essner won the girls player of the year honors after leading the Hawks to a district championship. Delta coach Randy White, who led the Bobcats to the Class 1 quarterfinal round, was named the girls coach of the year.

One other area player named conference player of the year was St. Vincent senior Alex Armbruster, who earned that honor in the Jefferson County Conference small schools division. St. Vincent's Bruce Valleroy, who led the Indians to the Class 2 championship game, was named the coach of the year in the JCC small schools division.


Dannenmueller was joined on the boys first team by Kelly seniors Kendal Deason and Kent Deason, Scott County Central sophomore Isaac Porter, Delta seniors Kevin Bartels and Brent Menz, Scott City senior Mark Johnston and Scott County Central senior Jeremy Johnson.

Honorable mention choices were: Aaron Kinder, Delta, junior; Ryan Bouge, Oran, senior; Jordan Felter, Kelly, junior; Avis White, Scott County Central, senior; Brad Urhahn, Chaffee, senior; Michael Glastetter, Kelly senior; and Cody Crowden, Delta, senior.

Essner was joined on the girls first team by Scott County Central senior Janet Penrod, Scott County Central sophomore Brittney Peet, Delta sophomores Kaci Menz and Shea Smith, Delta senior Sarah Cook, Oran sophomore Erica Michelsen, Kelly senior Jessica Burnett, and Chaffee junior Kegan Orr.

Honorable mention selections were: Brittany Godwin, Scott County Central, senior; Brittany Ponder, Kelly, sophomore; Mindy Hendrix, Kelly, junior; Trece Johnson, Scott County Central.


Jackson senior Jack Puisis and Central senior Eli Harris were the only two local players to earn first-team honors in the SEMO Conference.

The second team included Central junior Anthony Hempstead, Jackson senior Ryan Mirly and Notre Dame junior Alex Ressel.

Honorable mention went to: Garrett Ozbun, Central, junior; Alex Ray, Central, senior; Darnell Wilks, Central, sophomore; Kyle Pridemore, Jackson, junior; Aaron Redecker, Jackson, junior; and Jeremy Brinkmeyer, Notre Dame, senior.

In girls basketball, Jackson junior Bobbie Jones and Notre Dame sophomore Kristain Burger were first-team selections.

Second-team honors went to Jackson senior Kelly Loos and Jackson junior Kylie Werner.

Honorable mention went to: Merideth Medlin, Notre Dame, sophomore; Amber Karnes, Notre Dame, senior; Erica Schabbing, Central, senior; Courtney Schuessler, Central, sophomore.


Delta seniors Brent Menz and Kevin Bartels doubled up their all-conference honors by earning first-team recognition in the MVC as well as the Scott-Mississippi Conference.

Regular-season champion Meadow Heights had two players honored: juniors Anthony Bollinger and Terry Wagner.

Other members of the first team: Brad Urhahn, Chaffee, senior; Victor Vandeven, Leopold, junior; Austin Morrison, Oak Ridge, senior; Austin Hahs, Oak Ridge, junior; Casey Petzoldt, Saxony Lutheran, junior.

Making honorable mention were: Trey Maevers, Saxony Lutheran, junior; Tim Lorenz, Saxony Lutheran, junior; Cody Crowden, Delta, senior; Aaron Kinder, Delta, junior; Adam Pixley, Zalma, senior.


Armbruster was joined on the JCC small schools boys first team by senior teammate Danny Rellergert. Junior Waylon Richardet and senior Pat Siegmund received honorable mention.

St. Vincent's senior Sierra Paulus was named to the JCC small schools girls first team.

Perryville senior Andrew Norman was named to the JCC large school boys girls first team, while senior Phillip Buerck was listed on honorable mention.

Perryville junior Amber Hacker was a first-team selection in JCC large school girls basketball. Krista Meisner, also a junior, was a second-team choice, and junior Annette Weibrecht was given honorable mention.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: