Cape Central yearbook and newspaper staffs bring home Sweepstakes trophy

Tuesday, October 20, 2009
Pictured are the combined yearbook and newspaper staffs at Cape Central. Front row: Tomia Lane, Chelsey Caudle, Lauren Bland, Kristina Cruse and Brooke Burge. Second row: Alan Jarvis, Lindsey Kolb, Hillary Caldwell, Miranda Rich, Macie Brennecke and Chelsea Hayden. Third row: India Newbern, Adriaunna Fisher, DeAndrea Nelson, Destinee Primm, Dustin Peetz, Lilli Robinson, Mollie Young and Dalton Williams.

The Girardot yearbook staff and The Tiger newspaper staff at Cape Central High School brought home the Sweepstakes trophy at the SEMSPA (Southeast Missouri Student Press Association) Conference and Competition at Southeast Missouri State University last month. Over 400 students and advisers from Southeast Missouri participated and competed in several categories. More than twenty schools were represented.

The Sweepstakes Trophy is awarded to the school with the most combined points for placing 1st, 2nd, or 3rd in design, photography, and writing competition. The winners from Cape Central were Hillary Caldwell, Current Events, 3rd place; Lindsey Kolb, Write Off Competition, 2nd place; Newspaper First Page Design Layout, 1st place; Newspaper Double Page Spread Layout, 1st place; Yearbook Double Page Spread Layout, 1st place.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: