Dannenmueller nominated for All-American team

Friday, December 3, 2004

The Scott City boys basketball season just began, but senior Mark Dannenmueller already is garnering recognition.

Dannenmueller was recently nominated for the McDonald's All-American team, which is announced at the end of the season. A season ago, Dannenmueller averaged more than 22 points a game en route to an all-state selection.

The 6-foot-5 senior started the season strong with a 32-point performance in the Rams' opening win over Richland in the Oran Tournament. Last season, the Rams fell to Charleston in the Class 3 district tournament finals.

About 1,600 players are nominated with the top 100 chosen in the spring before the All-America teams are selected for a midsummer all-star game.

Chaffee hosts tournament

Chaffee High School will play host to the 28th annual Lady Devils Invitational Tournament starting Monday.

Kelly will be the top seed in the eight-team tournament and will play No. 8 East Prairie in the tournament opener at 5:30 p.m. Monday. Other first-round matchups on Monday include No. 4 Sikeston against No. 5 Scott City and No. 2 Delta versus No. 7 Oran. Third-seeded Scott County Central faces No. 7 Chaffee at 5:30 p.m. Wednesday.

The championship game is set for 4 p.m. on Saturday.

Central on the run

Central will participate in the first Northwest/Mobil "On the Run" Classic, which starts Wednesday.

Central will open the tournament 7 p.m. Wednesday with Parkway Central in the eight-team tournament. Other teams in the event include Marquette, Eureka, Northwest, Holt, Rolla and Timberland. The tournament was broken down into two brackets, with four teams in the local bracket and four in the out-of-town bracket. The Tigers are seeded first in their bracket.

Semifinal and consolation games are set for Friday with a 6:30 p.m. championship game.

Caruthersville back honored

Adam Cecil, the area's leading rusher, was awarded the Carr Trophy on Wednesday at the 59th annual Poplar Bluff Gridiron Banquet.

Cecil, a senior at Caruthersville, led the Tigers with 1,702 yards en route to a 12-1 season in which Caruthersville advanced to the state semifinals.

The Carr Trophy goes to the top player in the SEMO Conference.

Several area players were honored at the banquet as well. Scott City lineman Jarrod Pullen was the SEMO South lineman of the year, and Rams coach Terry Flannigan received the coach of the year honors after helping his team to a 8-2 record.

Jackson lineman Andy Glass was the lineman of the year in the SEMO North. Jackson coach Carl Gross won the coach of the year honors after his Indians rolled to a 3-0 record in conference play.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: