Major disaster declaration issued for 20 Missouri counties

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

A state request for a major disaster declaration was granted today, according to a news release from Gov. Jay Nixon's office.
An emergency disaster declaration issued Jan. 30 provided federal assistance to the state government for costs associated with the ice storm that began on Jan. 27. Today's declaration provides assistance for counties and local governments, the release said.
The State Emergency Management Agency estimates the costs of damages sustained during the storm at $193 million statewide.
The major disaster declaration is for 20 counties: Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Dunklin, Howell, Madison, Mississippi, New Madrid, Oregon, Ozark, Pemiscot, Reynolds, Ripley, Scott, Shannon, Stoddard, Stone, Taney, and Wayne.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: