Golden defense - Three Cardinals win Golden Gloves

Thursday, November 4, 2004

The AssociatedPress

ST. LOUIS -- Three members of the National League champion St. Louis Cardinals were honored as the top-fielding players at their positions when the Gold Gloves were announed Wednesday.

Greg Maddux, meanwhile, won his 14th Gold Glove. He had won 13 in a row, a record among NL pitchers, before Atlanta's Mike Hampton replaced him in 2003. Back with the Chicago Cubs this year, Maddux is closing in on Jim Kaat's record for pitchers of 16 Gold Gloves.

Center fielder Jim Edmonds won his fifth straight Gold Glove and seventh overall, third baseman Scott Rolen won his fifth in a row and sixth overall, and catcher Mike Matheny got the award for the second straight year and third time overall.

Los Angeles outfielder Steve Finley won his fifth Gold Glove, his first since 2000, and Dodgers shortstop Cesar Izturis was the only first-time winner, taking over from the Cardinals' Edgar Renteria.

Atlanta outfielder Andruw Jones won for the seventh straight season, Colorado first baseman Todd Helton won his third award and Florida's Luis Castillo repeated at second base.

Last year, Florida's Derrek Lee won at first and San Francisco's Jose Cruz Jr. won in the outfield.

Edmonds, Finley, Matheny and Rolen each earned $50,000 bonuses, while Castillo and Helton earned $25,000 apiece.

Gold Gloves have been presented since 1957 by Rawlings and are voted on by managers and coaches before the end of the regular season. They may not select players on their own teams, and they vote only for players in their own league.


National League

P--Greg Maddux, Chicago

C--Mike Matheny, St. Louis

1B--Todd Helton, Colorado

2B--Luis Castillo, Florida

3B--Scott Rolen, St. Louis

SS--Cesar Izturis, Los Angeles

OF--Jim Edmonds, St. Louis

OF--Andruw Jones, Atlanta

OF--Steve Finley, Los Angeles

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: