Ten more counties get federal flood aid

Monday, July 14, 2008

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. -- Even more counties affected by severe storms and flooding will be eligible for federal disaster aid, though southwest Missouri won't get federal assistance for May tornadoes.

Gov. Matt Blunt's office announced that residents in Gentry, Linn and Livingston counties are now eligible for federal aid. So are local governments in Bates, Daviess, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Livingston, Mercer, Polk and Webster counties. That's along with the 10 counties already approved for federal disaster assistance.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency also is giving the state more than $2.6 million to improve and digitize flood maps for 13 counties. The project is expected to take between two and three years and would result in digital maps for 73 counties and St. Louis.

The federal grant pays to improve flood insurance maps by using better data for topography, flood hazards and rainfall. The maps will cover Andrew, Barton, Bates, Clinton, Cooper, Dallas, Gasconade, Jackson, Moniteau, Perry, St. Charles, St. Louis and Wayne counties.

Blunt said in a written statement that flash flooding in March and Mississippi River flooding in June illustrate the need for up-to-date floodplain maps.

FEMA also has denied Blunt's appeal of the rejection of requests for federal assistance in Barry, Jasper and Newton counties. Tornadoes there killed 16, injured 200 and caused millions in damage.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: