Area digest 6/24/08

Tuesday, June 24, 2008

Scott County sweeps doubleheader

The Scott County Junior American Legion baseball team swept Perryville in a doubleheader Monday.

Jamie Scholz earned the win in the first game, a 19-3 rout.

Mark Glastetter and Coby Holland both went 2-for-3. Dustin Crowden belted a pair of three-run homers in the win.

Cory Speakman grabbed the win in the second game, a 9-4 decision.

Zach Pobst went 3-for-4, while Holland went 2-for-3 for Scott County (10-3).

Karcher, Whitener win 5K

Brandon Karcher was the overall male winner and Jordan Whitener was the overall female winner at the Safe House for Women Going the Distance for Victims of Violence 5K.

There were 149 people who participated.

Winners by age division


14 and under — Christian Hampton; Lucy Gage

15-19 — Logan Davis; Diane Strong

20-24 — Evan Harrison; Linnea Woldtvedt

25-29 — Jason Banderman; Tammy Fullenwider

30-34 — Mike Higgins; Heather Fisher

35-39 — Shane Morris; Melanie Whitener

40-44 — Kevin Hammes; Lora Coots

45-49 — Johnny Vavak; Paula Castleman

50-54 — Danny McCrite; Lana Richmond

55-59 — Mitch Gerber; Betty Maschman

75 and over — Peter Blums


14 and under — Allison Huskey

15-19 — Katy Swagman20-24 — Dani Gross

25-29 — Amanda Elfrink

30-34 — Kim Bramlett

35-39 — Brian Gray; Tara Driskell

40-44 — Melissa Heath

45-49 — Todd Johnson; Monica Johnson

50-54 — Kote Lizbe

55-59 — John Gardner

60-64 — Jamie Driskell

Ladd team wins championship flight

The team of Todd Ladd, Terry Hill, Todd Smith and Jack Greene combined to shoot a 56 to win the championship flight of the 18 Fore Life golf tournament Monday at Dalhousie Golf Club.

The team of Kevin Ladd, Ron Watkins, Gary Jenn and Greg Ford tied the team of David McClarty, T.J. Sides, Pate Hogan and Joe McClarty. Both teams shots 58s.

In the A flight, the team of Mitch Wood, Scott Rirle, John Loraine and Jerry Noble took first with a 63, and won on a scorecard playoff. The team of Mike Burcham, Derek Rahlman, Christopher Montgomery and Jerrod Murphy and the team of Scott Kruse, Kip Musgrave, Denny Christian and Bruce Christian also shot 63s.

In the B flight, the team of Tom Scott, Terry Fiala, Larry Jung and Lynn Wheeler shot a 67 and won on a scorecard playoff. The team of Jim Bidewell, Aaron Burton, Aaron Bidewell and Jordan Bidewell and the team of Ron Heuring, Steve Landhot, Melvin Kirn and Paul Strattman both shot 67s.

Goldens, Cotner team wins flight

The team of Gene Golden, Joe Golden, Andy Golden and Mike Cotner combined to shoot a 59 then won the championship flight on the second playoff hole at the 16th annual four-person scramble Saturday at the Cape Jaycee Municipal Golf Course.

The team of Sam Peterman, Dean Little, Keith Raganyi and Chuck Williams also shot a 59. The team of George Glasscock, Sherre Simmons, Troy Dooley and Mike Lewis finished third with a 60.In the A flight, Tom King, Diana King, Korey King and Josh Legrand finished with a 64 and won on a scorecard playoff. The team of Mark Ervin, Jon Hinton, Nick Ervin and Jon Brookover and the team of John Davis, Walter James, Bill Bell and Alton Jones also shot 64s.

In the B flight, the team of Shan Davis, Annie Crowley, Drew Hess and Melissa Crowley shot a 66 and won on a scorecard playoff. The teams of Robert L. White, Robert E. White, Donald White and Carl White and Mike Crawford, Carol Crawford, Chris Beussink and Lisa Beussink also shot 66s.In the C flight, the team of Gene Farrar, Barb Farrar, Virginia Whitlock and Larry Whitlock shot a 68 and won on a scorecard playoff. The teams of Bryant Beussink, Brad Beussink, Jay Moore and Gary Walker and Terrence Kelley, Kim Kelley, Chris Vines and Pati Vines also shot 68s.

Hale wins men's open division

Cape Girardeau's Rob Hale defeated Rob Lowery of Benton, Ill., in the men's open division of the All Cancer Erased tennis tournament in Jackson.Hale won 7-5, 6-4.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: