Scott County picks May 6 for special vote

Saturday, April 12, 2008

Scott County Clerk Rita Milam has confirmed May 6 as the special election to break ties among candidates in Tuesday's election.

Tom Urhahn and Ron Diebold Jr. tied at 172 votes each in the race for Oran mayor. Betty Barnes and Mitch Thompson received 152 votes apiece as mayoral candidates in Miner. Richard Griffin and Susan Godwin were tied with 133 votes for the third seat on the Scott County Central School District board. The other two seats were filled by Mark Freed and Michael Blissett.

Milam said she wanted to find the most economical way to run the special election. She said it would cost each city approximately $500 "for four election judges and miscellaneous items."

"I'm going to do a paper ballot, and the election judges will count them," she said.

It was unclear what the school district will pay for its special election, she said, because "it has five precincts, and I don't know for sure how many precincts will be open. But everybody will have a chance to vote."

In Diehlstadt, where no one filed to run for the village board's three open seats, Mike Demann got two write-in votes and eight others tied with a single vote. Milam said people in Demann's position do not have to accept the office, which often happens in small towns.

Board member Earl Burns said Demann has been elected in the past and declined to serve. Demann's home phone number is unlisted.

Burns, who has been consistently reappointed to the board since being elected six years ago, said few people want the responsibility of running the tiny community of 150, which is 11 miles south of Benton, Mo. Board members are responsible for clearing streets in bad weather and enforcing the village code.

The Diehlstadt board meets at 7 p.m. Thursday at city hall, at the corner of Kirkpatrick and Bridges streets.

335-6611, extension 127

Have a comment?

Log on to

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: