Six local schools bring aboard new basketball coaches

Thursday, May 27, 2004

The coaching carousel which has plagued the NBA has infected Southeast Missouri high school basketball in a lesser form.

Six local high schools have changed boys basketball coaches since the season ended in March, with two new girls basketball coaches in place as well.

Oran replaced both its boys and girls basketball coaches, announcing the hiring of Jason Andrews for the boys post and Larry Boshell for the girls. Both Oran squads struggled last season, with the boys team feeling the loss of a stellar senior class.

Boshell has been on staff at Oran for more than a decade and assists Mitch Wood with the baseball program. Andrews comes to Oran after five years as an assistant at Doniphan and two years assisting at New Madrid County Central.

Chaffee has replaced both of its basketball coaches as well, with girls coach Tyson Moyers moving over to coach the boys, and Advance graduate Chance White brought in to coach the girls.

Kelly was the first local school to change coaches with athletic director Cory Johnson taking over the boys program from Nick Lanpher.

Notre Dame lost its coach and athletic director when Darrin Scott was announced as Jackson's boys basketball coach. The Bulldogs wasted little time in bringing in former Dexter coach Paul Hale to take over its two voids.

Advance filled the void of coaching veteran Jim Hall, who was not brought back for the boys basketball position, by giving athletic director Joe Shoemaker the post.

Leopold has five on all-MVC baseball team

The Mississippi Valley Conference all-conference team was announced last week, with Leopold having five all-conference members.

A.J. Seiler, Michael Vandeven, Stacey Peters, Lucas Horrell and Nathan Thiele represented the Wildcats. Oak Ridge (Brian Ruesler, Austin Morrison and Austin Hahs), Delta (Cody Crowden, Tanner Baggett and Jerry Seabaugh) and Meadow Heights (Kevin Statler, Terry Wagner and Joel Hahs) had three apiece. Curt Wiseman of Zalma rounded out the list.

Oran places six on all-conference baseball

Oran led the Scott-Mississippi all-conference baseball list with six players, followed by East Prairie's five.

Matt Seyer, Garrett Roslen, Trevor Irwin, Joey Williams, Chase Seyer and Paul Bucher all made all-conference from Oran. Chaffee's lone representative was Coery Chapman.

For the Scott-Mississippi softball all-conference team, Chaffee led with seven all-conference players. Casey Guzman, Mallory Kiefer, Kegan Orr, Mindy Hendrix, Sarah Dooley, Whitney Horrell and Courtney Walter were all all-conference.

Tori St. Cin and Wendy Eftink made all-conference from Oran; and Ashton Phillips, Erika Kaufmann and Alana Newell made all-conference from Scott City.

Perryville's Hacker tabbed top player in JCC soccer

Perryville sophomore Amber Hacker led the area's representatives to the Jefferson County all-conference soccer team, collecting player of the year honors.

Hacker was one of two Perryville players to make the first team, joined by fullback Anna Davis. Stacy Brown, Whitney Guth and Theresa Mattingly made the first team from St. Vincent.

Chris Schremp and Chastity Marr were honorable mention all-conference from Perryville. Alaina Ernst, Hannah Schremp and Michelle Herzog made the honorable mention list from St. Vincent.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: