Learning briefs 04/13/04

Tuesday, April 13, 2004

St. Joseph student qualifies for state level

Katelyn Enderle, a student at St. Joseph Catholic School in Scott City, earned a rating of 1 at the recent Missouri Academy of Science district competition held at Southeast Missouri State University. The award qualifies her to compete later this month at the state level in Kansas City, Mo. Enderle is the daughter of Leo and Connie Enderle of Chaffee, Mo.

Student wins award in business education

Jordan Strode, a student at Eaglecrest High School in Aurora, Colo., was recently named a United States National award winner in business education. Strode is the grandson of Betty Summers of Cape Girardeau.

Cape student inducted into Omicron Delta

Gail Heuschober of Cape Girardeau was among 22 Maryville University of St. Louis students recently inducted into Omicron Delta Kappa, a national leadership honor society.

Two students to attend sophomore pilgrimage

Catherine Moreton, a student at Central High School, and Kyle Buchheit, a student at Oak Ridge High School, were recently selected to attend the sophomore pilgrimage of the General Federation of Women's Clubs, Scope Club. The students were chosen for the pilgrimage, which includes tours in Jefferson City, based on academic and leadership skills. Moreton is the daughter of John and Nancy Moreton. Buchheit is the son of Kenneth Buchheit and Martha Buchheit.

Two win Missouri Leadership Award

Rachel Stubbs of Cape Girardeau and Sherina Martin of Advance, Mo., have been awarded a Missouri Leadership Award to attend Southeast Missouri State University for the 2004-2005 academic year. Stubbs will graduate this May from Central High School. She plans to major in psychology at Southeast. Martin will graduate this year from Advance High School. While at Southeast, she plans to major in nursing.

Three students place in art guild show

Local winners from the recent Bootheel Regional Art Guild's high school art show were:

Fiber: Third place, Emily Bira, Notre Dame Regional High School.

Painting: First place, Kassie Essner, Notre Dame Regional High School; third place, Rayme Hooten, Notre Dame Regional High School.

MoDOT announces poster contest winners

Local winners from the Missouri Department of Transportation's southeast district work zone safety poster and coloring contest were:

Two- and 3-year-olds: First place, Chloe Bergman, Perryville, Mo.

Four- and 5-year-olds: Second place, Abigail Hoch, Perryville.

Third grade: Second place, Monika Smith, St. Vincent's School, Perryville; third place, Chelsea Carroll, Immaculate Conception School, Jackson.

Fifth grade: First place, Hailey Swift, Madison Blankenship, Leann Tripp, Jennifer Dirnberger and Christopher Dunnings, Immaculate Conception, Jackson; second place, Jonathan Clements, St. Vincent de Paul, Cape Girardeau.

Central student awarded president's scholarship

Mallory C. Wilson of Cape Girardeau has been awarded a president's scholarship to attend Southeast Missouri State University for the 2004-2005 academic year. Wilson will graduate this year from Central High School. She is the daughter of Windall and Dee Dee Wilson of Cape Girardeau.

Senior awarded SEMO regent's scholarship

Jennifer Lynn VanNostrand of Cape Girardeau has been awarded a regent's scholarship to attend Southeast Missouri State University for the 2004-2005 academic year. She will graduate this year from Central High School and is the daughter of Tom and Patricia Martin of Cape Girardeau.

Scott City student a cheerleading finalist

Abbie Cook of Scott City has been selected as a state finalist in the Miss Cheerleader of America Selection, to be held later this month in St. Louis. Cook is the daughter of Debby and Allen Cook. She is a junior at Scott City High School and as a finalist will compete for scholarships and awards to the university or trade school of her choice. The program is open to high school cheerleaders and includes competitive interviews and a pageant-style evening gown contest.

-- From staff reports

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: