Cape parks, storm-water tax passes; tie in Oran mayor's race

Tuesday, April 8, 2008
KIT DOYLE ~ Poll workers kept a soft, quiet mood with low lights Tuesday for Precinct No. 16 voters at La Croix United Methodist Church in Cape Girardeau.

Cape Girardeau's parks and storm-water sales tax has passed.

In total 56.5 percent of voters in the city put their check in the "yes" column. Yes votes were 2,615 to 2,012 no.

In Oran, the outcome of the mayor's race is unclear tonight, as incumbent Tom Urhahn has tied councilman Ron Diebold, Jr., with 172 votes each.

Tony L. Smee, Steven N. Trautwein and Stacy Kinder won seats on the Cape Girardeau school board. Incumbent Trautwein edged out Martha Hamilton by only 22 votes.

Terri Tomlin, T. Wayne Lewis and Bruce Thomas won in the Jackson school board race.

Both Allenville and Whitewater passed their bond issues for a joint sewage collection project.

In Perry County, Proposition A, the law enforcement sales tax, was defeated 1,908 to 1,609. Proposition B, a tax to fund to fund youth and senior servies, passed 1,848 to 1,690.

And in the only contested race for Cape Girardeau city council, Mark Lanzotti defeated Steven E. Peel by a two to one margin.

Look for complete results later at

Rudi Keller contributed to this report.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: