Out of the past 1/27/08

Sunday, January 27, 2008

25 years ago: Jan. 27, 1983

Saying they felt left out of the decision-making process, members of the Southeast Missouri State University Faculty Senate met yesterday with President Bill W. Stacy to discuss a proposed academic reorganization; the reorganization proposes eliminating the College of Applied Arts and Sciences, dropping five administrative positions and assigning new titles to those holding several other administrative posts.

CHAFFEE, Mo. -- Former Cape Girardeau County Sheriff Ivan E. McLain is hired as police chief of Chaffee.

50 years ago: Jan. 27, 1958

Marquette Cement Mfg. Co. will take delivery early in February of two new cement barges, built by the Nashville Bridge Co., of Nashville, Tenn.; this will bring the fleet operated by the water transportation division of the company to 25 barges, two towboats and one harbor boat.

An earthquake shortly before midnight rattles the Cape Girardeau district; many who experience the quake also report hearing a rumbling lasting 10 seconds or longer.

75 years ago: Jan. 27, 1933

Declaring it would only add to the burden of the taxpayer, Presiding County Court Judge William J. Kies voices strenuous objection to a bill introduced in the General Assembly yesterday setting up the machinery for old age pensions in the state.

Four prohibition agents from Missouri and two from Paducah, Ky., yesterday made a motorboat trip from New Madrid, Mo., north on the Mississippi River, during which they confiscated seven moonshine stills and arrested two men.

100 years ago: Jan. 27, 1908

The contract for the building of the new, $300,000 Methodist church in Jackson will likely be awarded soon; the building committee is conferring with W.W. Taylor & Son about bids; a fund of $32,000 has been raised to construct the church on the marble yard lot, about midway between the cemetery and the courthouse.

The Cape Girardeau County Bar Association meets in the library of the Common Pleas Courthouse and elects officers for the ensuing year: Frank Kelly, president; Edward Hays, vice president; Edward L. Drum, secretary, and I.R. Kelso, treasurer.

-- Sharon K. Sanders

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: