Four Jackson students named to All State Band

Wednesday, January 9, 2008

There were no action items on the agenda at the Jackson school board's meeting Tuesday. Scott Vangilder, a band director, discussed the district's state success. This year four students, Jenney Watson, alto clarinet; Emily Hoffman, bass clarinet; Hannah Fisher, clarinet; and Eric Koenig, bassoon, were selected for All State Band. One alternate, Trevor Smith, alto saxophone, was selected. Three students made the Honorable Mention band: Casey Hatton, clarinet; Andrew Oxford, E flat contra clarinet; and Nick Welker, trombone. The students will perform Jan. 26 at the Lake of the Ozarks, Vangilder said. For Watson, a senior, this is her fourth year being selected state champion, a Jackson record.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: