[SeMissourian.com] Overcast ~ 35°F  
River stage: 9.98 ft. Rising
Sunday, Mar. 1, 2015

14 Mo. counties received disaster declaration for farm damage

Wednesday, September 19, 2007

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) -- Farmers in 14 western Missouri counties will be eligible for low-interest federal loans as a result of heavy rains and flood damage this summer.

Governor Matt Blunt's office says the U.S. Department of Agriculture has approved a disaster designation for the counties for damage suffered in June and July.

The counties named as primary disaster areas include Bates, Cass, Henry, Johnson, St. Clair and Vernon. The other counties included in the designation are Barton, Benton, Cedar, Hickory, Jackson, Lafayette, Pettis and Polk.

Farmers in those counties can get emergency low-interest loans from the Missouri Farm Service Agencies.

Fact Check
See inaccurate information in this story?

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration. If you already have an account on seMissourian.com or semoball.com, enter your username and password below. Otherwise, click here to register.


Password:  (Forgot your password?)

Your comments:
Please be respectful of others and try to stay on topic.