Woods wins fifth straight PGA player of the year

Tuesday, December 9, 2003

THOUSAND OAKS, Calif. -- A wild season in golf came to a familiar conclusion Monday when Tiger Woods was voted PGA Tour player of the year for the fifth straight time, narrowly beating Vijay Singh.

Woods failed to win the PGA Tour money title or a major championship for the first time since 1998. Still, his peers decided his season was the best on tour.

Woods won five times, including two World Golf Championships, had the lowest scoring average and was second on the money list, despite playing only 18 times.

"There's a tremendous amount of satisfaction because it just shows that guys on the tour respect that I was consistent, that I've won numerous times," Woods said. "I think that's what the award reflects."

The PGA Tour does not release vote totals.

Ben Curtis was voted rookie of the year for winning the British Open in his first appearance at a major. Peter Jacobsen was voted comeback player of the year for winning the Greater Hartford Open at age 49, his first tour victory in eight years.

Woods won for the sixth time in seven years; no one else has won player of the year more than twice since it was created in 1990.

He became the first player since Greg Norman in 1995 to win the award despite not winning a major.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: