Southeast announces inductees for 2007

Wednesday, July 18, 2007

The 1985-86 men's basketball team will be inducted along with four other former athletes.

Four individuals and the 1985-86 men's basketball team that finished second in the nation comprise Southeast Missouri State's 2007 Hall of Fame inductees.

The university's sixth Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place Dec. 7 at the Show Me Center.

Individuals inducted will be Lisa Foster (softball and basketball, 1987 to 1989), Mike Gohn (football, 1978 to 1981), Ed Kiehne (basketball, 1920 to 1923) and Ed White (track and cross country, 1972 to 1975).

Foster was a two-sport star who was a first-team all-American in softball in 1989 and an all-MIAA selection in both softball and basketball. She led the 1989 softball team that went 37-21 with a .362 batting average.

Gohn was an all-American defensive end in 1979 and was a three-time all-MIAA selection. A former high school football and track coach, Gohn currently serves as director of athletics for the Parkway School District in St. Louis County.

Described as a scoring phenom, the late Kiehne scored 48 percent of his team's points during one season. He was Southeast's top scorer from 1920 through 1923. Kiehne, who died at age 37, was known as "Big Fritz" during his Southeast days.

White is the only Southeast cross country runner to earn all-American honors for three straight years (1973 through 1975), with his highest national finish 10th in 1974.

White retired after coaching track and cross country at Fox High School in Arnold, Mo., for over 30 years. His wife, the former Laura Byrne, was a member of the Southeast Athletic Hall of Fame inaugural class of 2002.

The 1985-86 men's basketball team lost in the NCAA Division II national championship game. Prior to that, it won the MIAA title, the NCAA South Central Regional title, and national quarterfinal and semifinal games.

The squad, coached by Ron Shumate, went 27-7, including a school-record 18-game winning streak.

Shumate is now retired, while assistant coach Sam Weaver is head coach at Division II Henderson State in Arkansas and assistant coach Alan Barnett is head coach and athletic director at Dyersburg State Community College in Tennessee.

Team members included Ronny Rankin, Riley Ellis, Michael Morris, Anthony "Butch" Hall, Ron Armstrong, Eddie Hart, Carl Nicholson, Ray Pugh, Kirt Cochran, Derick Turner, Chris Edwards and Malcomn Henry.

The Dec. 7 Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be at the Show Me Center. There will be a reception at 6 p.m. and a dinner at 7 p.m., with the inductions to follow.

The inductees will also be introduced at halftime of the Dec. 8 basketball game between Southeast and Tennessee Tech.

Tickets for the Hall of Fame induction ceremony are $20 and can be purchased at the athletic ticket office in Houck Field House. The public is invited to attend.

The 2007 inductees will increase the number of individuals to 49 and the number of teams to 10 since Southeast began its Hall of Fame in 2002.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: