Learning briefs for May 15

Tuesday, May 15, 2007


* Andrew Mellies of Cape Girardeau graduated cum laude from the School of Business at Oral Roberts University in Tulsa, Okla., with a bachelor of science degree in management.

* Matthew Wilson of Jackson has graduated with honors with a Juris Doctor degree from the University of Missouri-Kansas City law school.


* Sarah McDonald of Jackson has been named to the winter term dean's list at Johnson & Wales University in Providence, R.I.


* Drew Hillis of Jackson has been awarded a President's Plus Scholarship, Missouri Leadership Award and Boys State Leadership Award to attend Southeast Missouri State University.

* Alicia Bryant of Huntsville, Ala., has won a $26,000 Green and Gold Scholarship to the University of Alabama-Birmingham. A senior at Buckhorn High School in Huntsville, she is the granddaughter of Jimmy and Ruberta Hanners of Cape Girardeau and Junior and the late Linda Bryant of Cape Girardeau.

* Tiffany Glastetter of Oran, Mo., has been awarded the Missouri Beta Scholarship to attend Three Rivers Community College in Poplar Bluff, Mo. A senior at Oran High School, she is the daughter of Gary and Nena Glastetter.

Volz named to achievement academy

Cynthia Volz of Friedheim, Mo., has been named an All-American Scholar by the United States Achievement Academy. The Oak Ridge High School student is the daughter of Van and Karen Volz of Friedheim.

Heise is Van Buren valedictorian

Brian Heise headed the graduating class at Van Buren (Mo.) High School as the school's valedictorian. He is the grandson of Gene and Dorothea Heise of Cape Girardeau.

McCrate, Thomas make state finals in contest

Stephen McCrate and Reece Thomas, students at the Cape Girardeau Career and Technology Center, qualified for the state finals in the "Hands-On Ford/AAA Student Auto Skills National Quality Care Challenge." They qualified by competing in a written examination with other high school students around the state.

Delta student earns Braille readers award

Kristen McCoy, a sixth-grade student at Delta Elementary School, has received The Braille Readers are Leaders Award for the second straight year. This is a national award from the National Federation of the Blind. The award recognizes community service, hours read, leadership potential and scholarship.

* Shawn Brooks, a teacher at Alma Schrader Elementary School in Cape Girardeau, was named the local Teacher of the Year by the Cape Girardeau Wal-Mart store. Brooks received a $1,000 grant for her school, a $100 gift card to buy classroom supplies, a Teacher of the Year polo shirt and a personalized certificate.

* Third-grade teacher Nan Beussink of Immaculate Conception School in Jackson has been chosen as one of the "Heartland's Best Teachers" by KFVS12 Television. Beussink has been teaching for nearly 32 years. She has spent the past 24 years teaching at Immaculate Conception School.

* The Missouri State Teachers Association has honored KFVS12 Television for outstanding science coverage. For more than two years, meteorologist and science reporter Jason Lindsey has promoted science education in the region. The television station's Heartland Science Lab and Lindsey's story on Science Day 2006 earned awards from the MSTA. The competition recognizes outstanding coverage of education and educational issues by the Missouri media.

--From staff reports

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: